1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The AMD Driver Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, 18 Dec 2014.

  1. MyBrainz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,351

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    @AMDMatt So i have a 2700X now and decided to try the latest 18.5.2 drivers, they seem fine atm except for some mouse lag/freeze when i turn of 1 on my 2 HDMI monitors while still running the DP primary display.

    Moving the mouse around seems to freeze every 2 seconds when i turn off either of the monitors connected by HDMI..

    Any ideas?

    EDIT, actually it happens when i turn off the 2nd display, so just running display 1 and 3.. weird.
     
  2. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,452

    Location: United Kingdom

    Known issue under investigation mate.
     
  3. MyBrainz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,351

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    Cheers bud.. nice for me to have a 'known' bug for once :D

    Just the Gamma slider being put back in the settings with all the other sliders and these drivers will be worth keeping installed ;)
     
    Last edited: 13 Jun 2018
  4. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,916

    Location: In a house

    https://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-ar...e-Adrenalin-Edition-18.6.1-Release-Notes.aspx
     
  5. EastCoastHandle

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2018

    Posts: 2,565

    Ok thank you. :)
     
  6. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 18,453

    Location: North West

    How come there is no raven ridge support with the last two drivers? I thought they were now unified release. :rolleyes:
     
  7. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,452

    Location: United Kingdom

    APU drivers are updated every 3 months as WHQL releases only.
     
  8. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Sep 2009

    Posts: 29,038

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Surely this practice should change?
    What's the point having an APU if its possible that a game could perform much worse than its meant to as you've got to wait 3 months for drivers
     
  9. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 18,453

    Location: North West

    Three months, that's taking the ****. A monthly cycle is required.
     
  10. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2009

    Posts: 6,817

    I agree that 3 months between driver releases is unacceptable but it's a lot better than what motherboard manufacturers tend to do, i.e. provide a driver a year after it was released then never update it. :D
     
  11. EastCoastHandle

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2018

    Posts: 2,565

    @AMDMatt


    I noticed this 'nice' improvement for Vermintide 2. Good Job!
    Do you happen to know (or anyone for that matter) what game engine it uses? I've read Autodesk Stingray, the UE4, something else? Because I'm getting mixed answers.
     
  12. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,452

    Location: United Kingdom

    This as far as i know.
     
  13. EastCoastHandle

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2018

    Posts: 2,565

    Thanks :)
     
  14. MyBrainz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,351

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    Is that mouse cursor bug fixed in these? Also any DayZ Standalone optimisations yet?

    If not I'll just put up with these 18.5.2's for now.
     
  15. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,452

    Location: United Kingdom

    Nope, we're still working on on that issue and we've only just reproduced it in house.

    Check release notes for any game specific optimisations.
     
  16. MyBrainz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2012

    Posts: 2,351

    Location: Stoke On Trent

    I do check the notes but i'm not sure that everything is added to them, are they?

    I saw somebody say a while back that other fixes etc are added but not always put into the notes.

    Cheers :)

    Btw If you've not seen other posts of mine, i'm all AMD setup now with a 2700X.. bloody nice chip :D
     
  17. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,452

    Location: United Kingdom

    Not everything is listed in terms of fixed/known issues.

    I saw, nice setup dude and welcome to the Ryzen team.
     
    Last edited: 16 Jun 2018
  18. TonyTurbo78

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Sep 2013

    Posts: 10,122

    Location: West End, Southampton

    that's a shame you personally couldn't replicate it as others are now commenting with the same issue. Thanks for opening the ticket though, not sure how seriously they'll take it though as you weren't able to show it happening. Will be another bug that rolls on and on and the accidentally fixes itself somewhere down the line I expect.
     
  19. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,452

    Location: United Kingdom

    Don't worry we'll still look at it, it's just helpful if i can reproduce it myself so i can provide clear instructions.
     
  20. Gimpymoo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 15,228

    Location: Nottingham

    Were you able to find anything on the Freesync issue?

    Seems to be one of those obscure problems.

    A few reports of it online but always with the same solution, using Crimson drivers.

    Something was changed post Crimson but a matter of finding out what.