1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official AMD 3700 San Diego Overclocking Thread

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by TaKeN, 6 Feb 2006.

  1. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,134

    Location: Shropshire

    Well, there is an official Thread about opterons :) so im gonna start this one..

    My friends just been down to ocuk and picked me up a CAB2E, im hoping this chip will hit 2.8 Ghz +


    What clocks have people been getting, and with which steppings ??


    Plz post temps, voltages FSB X Multi's Etc :)
     
  2. watcher

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 57

    Location: Cyprus

    new cpu already ? :p gl with it m8. im thinking of buying that too :)
     
  3. Blue Cypher

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,687

    Location: Sheffield

    Hey, i dont know the stepping but i just bought it in january brand new so it is one of the newer ones, i managed to get it to 2.97 Ghz on stock heat sink and fan but its v core is at 1.5 volts. Its fully stable but i have just clocked it down to 2.87Ghz as the temps on full load at this speed are only 52C which is very good! it will overclock well i can imagine.
     
  4. Agent WD40

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jul 2005

    Posts: 710

    3700SD - KAB2E

    It was running at 2.8ghz at 1.400V and was still about 40C with TT Silent Tower. Was prime stable for 24 hours!!

    2.8ghz

    HT - 272
    Multi - x11
    Voltage - 1.55V
    FSB - 816
    Temp - 40C roughly

    It wasn't stable during prime, but with enough Volts she most certainly would be!

    3.0ghz

    Agent :cool:
     
  5. watcher

    Associate

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 57

    Location: Cyprus

    woah nice one :D imagine that with a good cpu cooler :D u could hit 3ghz :D
     
  6. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,134

    Location: Shropshire

    Imagine what you could hit with water cooling :eek: :D
     
  7. booyaka

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 13,178

    Currently @ 2.7Ghz

    fsb 245 x 11 multi - stock volts (1.4) and stock cooler. Prime stable for 12 hours.

    Max temp was 44C and idle about 32/33C.

    Not sure of stepping but bought from overclockers in January. Is there a simple program to get the stepping or do you physically have to look at the chip to see that?

    Will be cranking up to 2.8 or so hopefully tonight and will advise tommorrow.
     
  8. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,163

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Exact same clock and settings here
     
  9. steve45

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,001

    Location: Catterick/Dundee

    running 2.75Ghz at the moment
    htt - 250
    multi - 11x
    volts - stock
    temp on a freezer 64 pro - 28 idol/37/8 load

    only primed for 1 1/2 hours but i everything is stable, and will prime it longer next time i have the time

    not sure what stepping, as i forgot to check when i fitted the Freezer 64 pro.
    but it was bought mid december if it makes any difference.
     
  10. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,134

    Location: Shropshire

    Ive just got my cpu, its a KAB2E 0549BPDW

    I will report back later tonight :)
     
  11. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,134

    Location: Shropshire

    It did 2.6 Ghz on stock volts, but as soon as i went to 2.6 it crashed pc twice,

    Ive upped the Volts to 1.475, and now its running at 2.7 :)

    Seems stable at the moment, but im going to play css for ages which should crash the pc if its unstable.

    I can put 1.6 volts through this cpu and might get 3ghz, but ive heard people saying that this chips dont respond to volts :confused:
     
  12. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,134

    Location: Shropshire

  13. Legless

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2005

    Posts: 875

    Location: Cheshire

    I've only managed to get 2.65ghz outta my 3700+ on stock volts and HSF... :(
     
  14. The_TailGunner

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,894

    Location: Dublin


    lol- only he says- thats faster than an fx55

    TG
     
  15. needmorespeed

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,497

    Location: Harlow, Essex

    Kabce running at 3ghz 273x11 at 1.5v max temp was 48c
     
  16. pieman109

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,090

    Location: Ealing

    Max I've managed is 2.65ghz (265 x 10) in the system below, stock volts, 28 idle/35 ish load, no idea of stepping. Seemed stable though, primed for about 5-6 hours, has never crashed or froze.
     
  17. Twoshots

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 71

    Mmm stock volts
    Currently at 2750ghz
    22 on idle 34 load.
    Artic cooler 64 pro.
    Will do 2.8 without anthing special done to it but thought better safe than sorry.
    Prime tested stable.
    reckon can do 3ghz with this one.
     
  18. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,134

    Location: Shropshire

    I tried hitting over 2.6 on stock volts, but comp froze, im not sure whether it was due to me Exceeding 1000 HTT Frequency, or just because the chip doesnt like it :confused:
     
  19. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    set htt to x3, and if its works, you know thats the problem.
     
  20. booyaka

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 13,178

    My Htt is set to 3 and running fine @ 2.7ghz