1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**** The Official Google Pixel 2/Pixel 2 XL Thread ****

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by sesevans, 22 May 2017.

  1. [email protected]@]{

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 1,001

    Location: Merseyside, UK

    Updated this morning with the factory image :)
    I managed just over 7 hours screen the other day with the stock rom (rooted) and Flash kernel, the highest I've seen on my phone so far.
    I'm tempted to try AquariOS to see if WiFi calling or VoLTE work on Three
     
  2. breeza

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Jun 2006

    Posts: 216

    Yet more good service. Ordered bank holiday Monday and arrived Tuesday lunchtime.

    Very impressed so far. In isolation the small form factor feels pretty good.
    Updated and partially setup today. amFilm screen protector and Spigen rugged armor case will go on tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: 4 Apr 2018
  3. Heinz57

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 May 2008

    Posts: 351

    Patch came through quite early for me too (usually takes a week).

    Still having issues with the WiFi disconnecting though, despite "wifi stability improvements" being listed in the notes. Never had this before the Feb update!
     
  4. FishLicker

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2015

    Posts: 1,547

    Anyone managed to install the Rootless Puxel Launcher onto the pixel 2? In other phones it seems as easy as installing an APK but on the pixel 2 it won't install and some guides talk of flashing an extra module to get it to work?
     
  5. remy87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,833

    Location: London

    Sucks that all of my QC 3.0 doesn't work with my pixel.
    Anyone got any minor issues of having multiple Bluetooth connected they all stay connected but seems it has a hard time selecting when picking up a phone call or calling.
     
  6. Mylestheone

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2017

    Posts: 117

    AquariOS is nice, just enough extra features. I'm also running flash kernel with it. VoLTE and WiFi calling work on EE at least. Not sure about Three though.
     
  7. MrRockliffe

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2014

    Posts: 3,840

    Location: Sunny Sussex

    Bluetooth is a bit funny on the Pixel for me altogether. If I pair a new Bluetooth device after using my headphones, my headphones won't connect again. I have to unpair them and re pair them, which causes the last Bluetooth device to stop working. Essentially, I can only have one working at a time
     
  8. Mylestheone

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2017

    Posts: 117

    Glad HTC's dongle sorted the issue for ya. It's ironic that HTC's own dongle is also hit and miss on their own devices (U11 and U11+). The remedy is to use Google's dongle lol
     
  9. remy87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,833

    Location: London

    So I got a gear s3 connected then when I use my car only media is available to make car phone section to work I have to go to Bluetooth section and select my car and enable disable the phone settings to make it work. I'll play around a bit more.
     
  10. Mekrel

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,003

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Bluetooth is really flakey with my car too, perhaps it's the fact I have my LG Watch Sport connected most of the time?

    It's so annoying, Bluetooth has been poor on Nexus & Pixel devices since their inception compared to devices from Samsung etc.

    It's even more complicated when you use Android Auto (via the car's infotainment system, not just on the phone) as Android Auto will setup a BT connection with the car without the two being paired. My Audi A4 B9 sometimes doesn't connect to the phone at all and I've tried EVERYTHING to make it consistently do so. Pairing the device and car as you normally would, deleting the pairing and allowing AA to control the connection and even changing the AVRCP profile in developer settings.

    I've read that having the device paired confuses the car when Android Auto is trying to create a connection also but as above, I've deleted the pairing and still no dice.
     
  11. [email protected]@]{

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 1,001

    Location: Merseyside, UK

    Good to know, thanks :)
    Did VoLTE and Wifi calling work for you on the stock rom?
    On the stock rom it doesn't enable for me on the Three network. But I'm getting such a good discount on the tariff, I can live without it if I have to.
    Apparently iphones just work out of the box.
    For android phones not running Three branded roms, they have a separate app for wifi calling, but it's rubbish, duplicating call entries and often missing calls. It was installed and deleted again on the same day. So if I could find a way to enable it natively that would be great.. but I have my doubts it will work.
     
    Last edited: 4 Apr 2018
  12. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,308

    WiFi calling works for me on EE and stock firmware.
     
  13. grudas

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Mar 2008

    Posts: 21,070

    Location: West sussex

    anyway of using 3.5mm and charging your phone on pixel 2?

    getting a bit fedup.. want my aux in my car and also to charge the phone, flaky battery after recent update.
     
  14. Cleisthenes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 29 Jul 2013

    Posts: 8,005

    Do you have a cigerette lighter/charger next to your aux in?
     
  15. Mylestheone

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2017

    Posts: 117

    Yeah works on stock for me.

    That app is horrible. When I was on Three I used it once and deleted it swiftly
     
  16. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Apr 2011

    Posts: 11,699

    Location: Barnet, London

    Maybe it's been suggested already and you can't, but I do this with a BT receiver into the Aux.
     
  17. lmfy2k

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Feb 2004

    Posts: 6,917

    Location: Manchester

    Chaps. Just playing with a pixel 2 xl, I'm on EE and can't get the WiFi calling to work, I've enabled it but still not showing on screen.

    It Worked on my other phone

    Any ideas?

    Edit: scratch that, seems there is no WiFi calling icon like on Samsung but can see it when I pull the top status bar down
     
  18. niko

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 1,017

    Location: oswestry shropshire

    did you buy from three? unless things have changed you need three firmware for it to work
     
  19. remy87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,833

    Location: London

    Actually I fixed it by removing phone function on my gear s3 . All works now. A bit annoyed I can't keep phone on s3 but rarely use it.
     
  20. lmfy2k

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Feb 2004

    Posts: 6,917

    Location: Manchester

    I don’t think there are different firmewres for the pixel 2, just one stock android version.