1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The PSP Interweb Mini-FAQ

Discussion in 'PCCG Archive' started by SiD the Turtle, 4 Sep 2005.

  1. Memphis

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,204

    Location: Inverness



    You needed a wireless access point to add to your wired network, not a wireless network card in your PC. All you have there is two seperate networks.
     
  2. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    I don't quite get what you mean?
     
  3. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    LOL thats a MUCH shorter way of saying what I said :D
     
  4. unknown79

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 192

    Location: Wigan

    My PC died lol :( And i dont really use my PS2 online anymore, so now its that above, all the equipment is the same an i have a cable modem ;)

    But when i get a new PC hopfully end of this month, begining of next, ill be wanting to add another PC to the network and hopfully PSP :rolleyes:
     
  5. nickels

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,888

    Location: midlands

    :( damn it, i was given the wrong info.... can you point me in the direction of an access point :D then i can see how much that is and work out if its worth it
     
  6. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    A cable modem? As in you connect using a cable provider rather than ADSL? I have no experience in this department but I imagine your best bet would be to buy some kind of cable modem/wireless router.
     
  7. BoomAM

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2003

    Posts: 16,214

    Location: Atlanta, USA

    Dont worry about it. It doesnt benefit the thread us discussing the merits of various implementations of wireless standards. :)
     
  8. unknown79

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 192

    Location: Wigan

    Ok will do :p
     
  9. Memphis

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,204

    Location: Inverness

  10. Memphis

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,204

    Location: Inverness



    I do my best ;) lol.
     
  11. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Wireless_Access_Points.html

    D'oh Memphis beat me to it.

    They cost almost as much as buying a dedicated ADSL modem/router/switch/firewall everything you need in one box.
     
  12. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    LOL true, networking did my head in, so many standards!
     
  13. Windle

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,155

    Location: Scotland

    roffles at some of the stuff in here :D if you've already got a wireless network card, might as well pick up a wireless router/modem nickels...
     
  14. nickels

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,888

    Location: midlands

  15. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Wrong. If you were to shove a PCI wireless card into your PC you can set it and the PSP up to use an ad-hoc network. Then you'd bridge the wireless and wired connections on the PC (select them both, right click and choose 'bridge connections').

    The PSP then connects to the internet through the PC.
     
  16. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    No, that seem to simply be a scanner used to find networks. You are looking for something like the Belkin 54Mbps Wireless Access Point (F5D7130UK) (NW-010-BE) for an access point, or for the full shebang something like the Belkin 54Mbps Wireless ADSL Modem/Router (F5D7630UK) (NW-056-BE) found on the routers page.

    Which one in particular you go for is personal preference, I have had no experience with either.

    I use a Linksys WAG54G for my needs, though its a little tempremental.
     
  17. Burbleflop

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    Nope. That just locates wireless networks, it isn't an access point. The Linksys WAP54G would do what you're after, but read my other post - you can do what you want with a PCI wireless card in your PC.
     
  18. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    Can you give a source to confirm that? As I have said previously, the Ad-Hoc mode that the PSP supports is only for PSP-to-PSP as far as I'm aware.
     
  19. SiD the Turtle

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 9,695

    Location: On the pale blue dot

    Sorry I believe you are wrong.

    Source: http://www.us.playstation.com/PSP.aspx?id=troubleshooting/adhoc.html
     
  20. nickels

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,888

    Location: midlands

    i have the linksys wmp54g that work, if so can you tell me how...