1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. mattyc123

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Apr 2010

    Posts: 293

    Location: Thelwall, Warrington

    I can install and get into Windows but getting an error about the driver not being installed
     
  2. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

    well displayport can't really be converted to other formats easily (like the old days), these were probably shipped before the driver was even ready so that would explain the lack of a disc; mine had a little quick install guide!
     
  3. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

    that sounds like a glitch that happened when upgrading from a certain 17.6 version recently; clean install (or ddu) it and start again :D
     
  4. Howling

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2008

    Posts: 2,450

    So I open my order (£450 worth of Haribo) and there's no Haribo!!! Just some Vega thing.... :(
    [​IMG]

    Not happy :( I look forward to my sugar rush on receiving OCUK goods ...

    Edit: Also to note, got a response about my second order -- they said they oversold the card so now I've got to wait for their next batch :(
     
    Last edited: 15 Aug 2017
  5. mattyc123

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Apr 2010

    Posts: 293

    Location: Thelwall, Warrington

    I have tried a clean install, still no joy, even had to do a bios update!
     
  6. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

  7. Dianbobo

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Feb 2017

    Posts: 278

    Haha thanks, I got a 1440p freesync monitor recently so for me this is the best card
     
  8. Supercity

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Jul 2016

    Posts: 2

    Should have been an owner, waited in all day and then 15:06 I get an email saying my pre-order item will be delivered in September!

    Gutted! I've sold my 2 480's already.
     
  9. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,469

    Location: Ireland

    Ocuk dropped the ball on this launch to say the least, some type of screw up in the warehouse apparently :(
     
  10. mattyc123

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Apr 2010

    Posts: 293

    Location: Thelwall, Warrington

    I have got ddu and have cleaned it up in safe mode etc. Still no joy. I have opened a ticket with amd but I currently have a 450 Vega paper weight!
     
  11. ynotchat

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 2

    Just got emailed re. my 14:13 order.... over 150 oversold.
    "Current ETA: 28/08 - 11/09 (subject to change)"
     
  12. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,469

    Location: Ireland

    Join the club. =/
     
  13. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2009

    Posts: 21,103

    In fairness I was actually a bit happy not to get dozens of stickers/posters/etc for once lol.


    Newer AMD high end cards can't use passive DP to VGA cables like the 280X and older could but they can still use DP to HDMI/DVI and HDMI to DVI. Hence the RX480 coming with a DP to DVI adapter (may have been the Fury Nano actually).
     
  14. TonyTurbo78

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Sep 2013

    Posts: 10,146

    Location: West End, Southampton

    Sure thing.

    Currently got all water kit out, pump, rad obviously tubing disconnected. Now out in the back garden cleaning her up. All fans, filters, cabling, drives, psu all out giving it a right good clean and rewire since I'm in amongst things. Will be back together in an hour or so then will prob have a quick play tonight then tomorrow will look closer at power draws, fps etc.
     
  15. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

    Yes but a passive DP to DVI is only good for 60hz which is basically useless :D
     
  16. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2009

    Posts: 21,103

    You have downloaded the latest AMD beta drivers and it's the only GPU in the machine yeah?
     
  17. vanpeebles

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,603

    I got mine today, just need a mobo and cooler now :) I'll take a piccy tomorrow.
     
  18. Paul Campbell

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 29

    Same :(

    At least now we know I guess.
     
  19. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 9,018

    Location: Knowhere

    It's a bloomin joke, They send reviewers boxes with cubes and bit's and bob's and send the paying public these half-arsed looking boxes with nothing but the card inside, I'm half expecting to find my card wrapped in a bin liner when I get it. :rolleyes:
     
  20. mattyc123

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Apr 2010

    Posts: 293

    Location: Thelwall, Warrington

    I think I have the latest beta drivers, my motherboard does have a plx chip that might be causing the problem. I have 17.30.1051-b6