1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,539

    Location: Ireland

    It was by far, supposedly around 20 in the uk with ocuk having around 10 of them.
     
  2. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Aug 2003

    Posts: 18,188

    Location: UK

     
  3. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 865

    Finally got time after a few days of insane Norwich traffic to replace the old R9 290 with the Vega 64

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    However still waiting for my replacement R7 1700 from AMD RMA :/
     
  4. Stolly

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,000

    Struggle to believe someone spent that much without checking it would actually work.
     
  5. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,853

    Location: Dalek flagship



    Welcome and on TROH.:)


    The Roll of Honour.
    [​IMG]

    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Apache14, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, DazQ87, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Smudge, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ChosenName, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, mattyc123, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, WhistleBlower07, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Chewie, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, nashathedog, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, heartburnron, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, vanpeebles, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Morve, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Howling, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Apache14, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Dianbobo, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ubersonic, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, AMDMatt, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, TonyTurbo78, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, MDPlatts, Link


    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Vega 64.

     
  6. Acesbomb

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 53

    So apparently as a custom watercooler, AMD expect me to buy an overpriced POS AIO water cooler so I have the pleasure of putting it in the bin so I can enjoy the overpriced POS with higher power limits and a custom block. Rather than being able to flash it.
    LAST AMD Jackass card I ever buy. Seriously, UP YOURS.
     
  7. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 865

    You already added me the other day :p
     
  8. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,853

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Thanks and fixed.:)
     
  9. Smudge

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2004

    Posts: 772

    Location: Kent, UK

    Been gaming on mine tonight, nothing heavy, just some path of exile. I capped the frame rate at 143fps as I have a 1440p 144hz freesync monitor, it's a blower model & totally stock on balanced profile but it didnt break a sweat and was totally silent. MASSIVE improvement over my reference 290 it replaced. Capping the framerate in this game it didnt even reach max clock speed :) 1400mhz or there abouts. I think the highest temp was 70c. This is with a Ryzen 1700 at 3.85 and some tight timing g.skill ram at 3333.

    3dmark benchmarks are in line with everyone elses with a similar hardware setup, maybe a touch higher as I have really nice ram (on a cheap b350 board) so my scores are similar to the AIO scores at stock.

    I'll have a play with overclocking it at some stage but im busy for a few days now so will have to wait until after then.
     
  10. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 35,231

    Location: United Kingdom

    Feel your pain on Norwich traffic. :D

    RX Vega 64 running Doom, 4K60 using Vulkan at Nightmare quality.

     
  11. vanpeebles

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,601

    Random question, did the Sapphire Vega 64 Air, have any of that anti scuff plastic you are meant to peel off first? I can't remember any :D PC stuff seems to be covered with it these days.
     
  12. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 865

    I don't ..... Think so .... (I'm 95% mine didn't) but now I'll have to check tomorrow :D
     
  13. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 865

    I'm dependant on the park and ride system (currently work for a well known insurance firm that you can guess). Took me 1h longer than normal to get out of the city the other day for no apparent reason .... Just general poor road planning.
     
  14. MikeB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 1,629

    I left there in December, escape, be free, they suck major bum
     
  15. HRL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,281

    Location: Devon

    First time since the launch that I wish I'd snagged one at £450. Damn it. :(
     
  16. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 705

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    No problem :). Truly pants at mo :(.

    A member has on OCN VEGA bios thread confirmed VEGA 64 AIR can be flashed to VEGA 56 AIR :( . SP don't lock, just like when I flash Fury X to Fury. AFAIK the locking table does not work on fully unlocked ASIC. So he can now enjoy lower base/boost/HBM clock and PL :p .

    The OCN member who supplied RX VEGA 64 Liquid VBIOS it's incomplete, so I think that's why that failed to post on VEGA 64 AIR.

    VEGA 64 AIR won't post on full VEGA FE AIR VBIOS either. VBIOS Device ID differ between VEGA FE AIR/AIO and RX VEGA 56/64/AIO, but RX VEGA all are same.

    Same member also confirmed daisy chained PCI-E will trip PSU protection when PL increased via reg mod. So best to use separate PCI-E cables.
     
  17. Paul Campbell

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 29

    I thought you could flash the air card with the AIO bios, but you can't edit the existing BIOS??

    EDIT: Just read the above post. Doh.
     
  18. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Aug 2003

    Posts: 18,188

    Location: UK

    Red and black still looks the best.
     
  19. Neutral

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Jan 2013

    Posts: 141

    Location: London

    So that special edition corsair dominator platinum chrome kit I got finally has a use other than looking amazing? ;)
     
  20. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 35,231

    Location: United Kingdom

    Tell me about it, i live in Costessey. Almost moved to Queens Hill, but thought better of it. :p