1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. Jimmy Weirdarms

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,020

    This is interesting. I think I have more exhaust fans on the case than intake fans at present, implying negative pressure. This is a bad idea?
     
  2. Shin1234

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Aug 2017

    Posts: 162

    Location: Gods own county


    Not specifically, only really matters there when it comes to dust. Main thing is to have good airflow that can get to components and get that heat away from said component.
     
  3. diziet

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Nov 2011

    Posts: 58

    My Vega 64 AIO arrived safe and sound on Tuesday, no Haribo though! Here's a photo for the record:

    [​IMG]

    I'm more than happy with the performance, it's enabled me to run native 4K with higher FPS, and at the same quality settings or higher than I was running at 1440p and upscaling. Freesync's taken care of the rest. So far I've chucked ME: Andromeda, No Man's Sky, Deus Ex; Mankind Divided, X-Com 2, Dirt Rally (VR), Batman Arkham Knight and Witcher 3 at it.

    So that's the positives. Now I need a bit of advice, the performance has been great... the stability not so much. Initially I couldn't even launch games, then I split the power over two PCI-E leads rather than daisy chaining. It's rock solid in most of the above, crashing occasionally in X-Com 2 and regularly in Witcher 3 (maybe every 20 minutes).

    I'm running it on a new Corsair HX1000i, and I've removed the overclocks from the CPU just in case.

    Here's the things I've done to try and gain more stability, referring to X-Com 2/Witcher 3:

    • Updated BIOS (should've done it anyway)
    • Clean install of B6 drivers using DDU (this let me launch X-Com 2)
    • Removing CPU overclock (not sure, probably no change)
    • Single/Dual rail mode on PSU (unsurprisingly no discernable change)
    • Radeon Chill enabled (hard to say, but i'm impressed at how well it works)
    • Radeon Global Wattman set to Power Save (not tried X-Com 2, but this seems to have worked a charm in Witcher 3 no crashes in an hour of play)
    I'm going to gather more data on Tuesday when I can next get some time in, any advice gratefully received in the meantime. I feel my PSU should be more than up to the task so I'm hoping you guys will go "Yeah, but you've not done this". My next port of call will be to log out stats in Witcher 3 without Power Save witched on and compare. The largest power out I have logged at the mo was 503 Watts, with 538 going in but that was in Arkham Knight which never crashed and ran at pretty much 60fps. In Witcher 3 with Power Save i've got 505 Watts in and 472 Watts out.

    I'm not convinced the issue is power draw due to the fact the witcher 3 crashes seem like GPU driver barfing as the following sequence happens:
    1. Graphics freeze for 1-2 seconds.
    2. Display turns off.
    3. Keyboard locks up.
    4. HD activity light continues to indicate something happening.
    5. Game music may continue playing.
    When the PSU was tripping it was pretty damn obvious what was the problem! :D

    Could it still be a power issue with the HX1000i? I'd hate to RMA the PSU, I only bought it to be ready for Vega, and I really hope I don't have a flaky Vega card even though I'd much rather deal with Overclockers RMA procedure than anyone elses. My hope is that this is iffy AMD beta drivers and it will all come out in the wash over the next few updates. Power save seemed to knock about 5fps off my upper rates in Witcher 3, this is liveable for now but I don't want to be in a position where I can't take full advantage of the card.

    ** Hmm I forgot to dust the CPU pipes **
     
  4. Shin1234

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Aug 2017

    Posts: 162

    Location: Gods own county

    I could be wrong but to me that sounds like your tripping out your psu, where are you connecting the 8 pins into your psu ?
     
  5. diziet

    Associate

    Joined: 29 Nov 2011

    Posts: 58

    Hmm off the top of my head, CPU in the top right, Vega PCI-E cable 1 below to the left, and the 2nd Vega PCI-E up and to the left of that like so:

    [​IMG]

    So they're spread across the columns/rows available. and.... it's 2am. Sleep beckons.
     
  6. Richeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 3,097

    Location: South East Coast

    Well I will probably be coming off the owners list soon :p

    Prior to my purchase of the Vega I was using 1440p monitors and a 1080p TV. After outlaying £1500 for my new PC luck would have it that I turned on my TV the night after finishing the build and it was completely garbled and out of warranty which led to me buying a nice new LG 65C7 4k which of course the Vega struggles with. Plus the fan was very loud and sounded like it was rattling a bit under load. As I only got it on Friday I decided to use the opportunity to return it and will be going with a 1080Ti so I have more acceptable framerates at 4k. Sorry guys!
     
  7. YB2ndBEST

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Dec 2014

    Posts: 621

    Location: Charlotte, NC


    It's ok.. you made the right choice lol
     
  8. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship



    Welcome and on TROH.:)



    The Roll of Honour.
    [​IMG]


    Date 21/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, diziet, Link
    Date 19/08/2017, Make Reference Air, CapitalOne, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Chrisc, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Richeh, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, DazQ87, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Smudge, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ChosenName, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, mattyc123, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, WhistleBlower07, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Chewie, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, nashathedog, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, heartburnron, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, vanpeebles, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Morve, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Howling, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Apache14, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Dianbobo, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ubersonic, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, AMDMatt, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, TonyTurbo78, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, MDPlatts, Link


    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Vega 64.

     
  9. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 843

    With all of these "is this PSU up to the job" questions I'll report back on some stress testing on my 750watt PSU when I get my CPU back from AMD. The full specs will be

    CPU : R7 1700 @ 3.8ghz (hopefully fixed)
    RAM : DDR4 @ 2933mhz
    MOBO : Gigabyte X370 Gaming K5
    GPU : RX Vega 64 (ref blower model)
    HDD : 1x1tb (can't remember the manufacturer)
    SSD: 1x 128gb Samsung Evo
    NVME : 1x 256gb Samsung Pro
    PSU: super flower leader gold 750w

    Hope someone will find it helpful, and I hope to have my CPU back this week.
     
  10. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 9,018

    Location: Knowhere

    I definitely will, Cheers.
     
  11. old gamer

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2011

    Posts: 4,457

    Location: bristol

    watched the adoredtv youtube vid, very interesting he tested the different modes ie turbo and balanced and found turbo used about an extra 90w for about 5 fps so a bit pointless

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bIGpvBrwXvA
     
  12. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship

  13. Apache14

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Oct 2013

    Posts: 843

  14. Shin1234

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Aug 2017

    Posts: 162

    Location: Gods own county


    Ye that was incredibly interesting, makes me wonder what that extra power is supposed tobe doing when we know so many features are not yet enabled.

    Them moving the vrms makes me wonder what difference it will make as buildzoid stated the ref vrms are the most optimal setup.
     
  15. Jimmy Weirdarms

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,020

    Soooo.... Asus delivering a card that won't heat-throttle itself to death after a few minutes!
     
  16. NathG79

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2012

    Posts: 364

  17. AmateurExpert

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Aug 2017

    Posts: 415

    Location: location location

    It doesn't sound like the PSU tripping out at all. For that PSU it doesn't matter which of the 12V outlets is used.

    If no-one else gets the same problems with the same drivers, it's more likely to be a problem with his Vega. If it's not stable in balanced power mode (after having ruled out software issues), I'd RMA it. I wonder if upping the power limit makes the crashing more likely?
     
  18. Shin1234

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Aug 2017

    Posts: 162

    Location: Gods own county


    i did say i could be wrong, i only said it because when i had 780's in sli i had a 1200i that would trip and had to rma that.
     
  19. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 9,018

    Location: Knowhere

    It'd be good if the Sapphire Vega 64 Tri-x has the same short pcb and backplate as the Fury Tri-x did. The Sapphire Fury Tri-x was the reference Fury pro so of the three fans only 2 were covered at the back leaving one third of the heatsink with a fan and no backplate or pcb which let air flow through that part of the heatsink easier, AMD did a 3 fan Fury which they made there own pcb and backplate for, It was a full length design. This resulted in the Asus being both louder & hotter than the Sapphire reference pcb model. Basically it seems that it was the best of the bunch so I'll be keeping an eye out in the hope Sapphire develop a similar short pcb Vega, Sadly the fact that the reference Vega's are full length makes it unlikely. :( It's hard to understand how AMD got Vega so wrong. :confused:
     
  20. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 9,018

    Location: Knowhere

    Maybe, I tried mine with 2 different 850 watt models an old TX and a new HX and it couldn't run with any increase to the power mode whatsoever. I'll have to look for the Adored Video, Did he test it in all three power mode states?