1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2015

    Posts: 313

    4927 @1080 extreme just now on my powersave setting. (I can push higher but that seems a good stable setting)
    Mine does a strange thing in that it seems to clock itself back after a crash it didn't like, so my bench scores suffer, dropping by about 10% or more, even though it's showing the same sort of clock speeds.
    After several boots of not crashing it pushes one, then the other bios back up and the scores start going back to normal.
    A steady 1620 core @ 1025mv sounds good.
    How do your actual gaming FPS seem?
    Mine seem to vary, depending on the mood of my card.
    I've used witcher 3 on 4k ultra settings (except crowds on high) for testing, simply because I know it - cantering through crowded streets seems to give 47-52fps, though sometimes it does 58-60 (my FRTC is set at 60hz - my 4k monitor doesn't go higher).

    Your mem sounds low - but if it's working well, it's working well.
    I found pushing mine to 1130 gave good bench scores but it's not stable in gaming.

    I'm assuming you have it at 1025/1000mv?
    If you have the voltage lower than that (yeah I know the mem voltage is set) try pushing it a bit more to see what effect it has.
    Having it at 950mv didn't work that well for me I remember.
     
  2. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2015

    Posts: 313

    Just thought - is it Samsung memory you have?
     
  3. Phixsator

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Oct 2012

    Posts: 3,685

    HBM voltage is set to 900 in wattman. I was under the impression from reading around that HBM voltage in wattman actually don't control HBM voltage :p. Perhaps that is incorrect, I don't know. Gaming has been very good with good frame intervals and no hickups unless the game itself is done poorly. I don't have specific numbers but Division 2 open beta was running exceptionally in DX12(surprised me considering how many says otherwise on the forums), Witcher 3 was running very well, same was Apex. "Running well" means low frame time intervals for solid consistency and above 75ish fps, preferable above 100 fps, depending on the title with shooters leaning towards the latter.

    Yes its Samsung memory.
     
  4. flea.rider

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,006

    ok need a bit of help .. with wattman ..
    got it set up 1700/1150 .. runs fine until I put apex on then it drops to 1535/1050 ?? like wtf I've gone into the apex jobby in wattman set it to 1700/1150 and it still drops .. doing my head in
    how do I get it to run full steam ?
     
  5. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Feb 2015

    Posts: 4,725

    You can lock the P states by right-clicking on "State 7". It's very likely you will crash though, as I doubt the 1700/1150 is going to be stable. Also, remember that the actual clock speed will never reach the level you put in Wattman, it will always be off by 30-50mhz (but not 165..).
     
  6. flea.rider

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,006

    yeah p-state is locked that's what I don't get .. locked at min ..
    cards rock solid rest of games play fine .. btw it's on water :)
    https://imgur.com/iKjCnt8
     
  7. RyzenJunkie

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2019

    Posts: 234

    I've ordered a new PSU (superflower 850 gold) so hopefully this will cure my coil whine. When I ordered the original seasonic I thought I ordered a gold one and I ordered a bronze one by accident so don't know if that is the cause.
     
  8. flea.rider

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,006

    that's not going to cure coil wine .. power to the card is still power ... rma it if it's really bad
     
  9. RyzenJunkie

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Mar 2019

    Posts: 234

    I've already swapped the Vega 64 for another one which still has coil whine .Been told by ocuk today that the biggest cause of coil whine in graphics cards, is PSU flutter.
     
    Last edited: 5 Mar 2019
  10. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 8,811

    Location: Knowhere

  11. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 8,811

    Location: Knowhere


    I sold my V64 Red Devil recently & while there'd been no coil whine for me the chap it went to had it real loud, he even bought another PSU to see if that was the cause but it didn't help, He RMA'd it but due to the V64 Red Devil no longer being in stock they gave him a Nitro instead which was a nice bonus, When I bought it I went with the Red Devil because the Nitro was to expensive, the opposite of how it is today, he said the Nitro also has a little whine but nowhere near as bad as the Red Devils. I'm not sure what was causing it for him but not me, there's a lot of possibles.
     
  12. iamcll

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2017

    Posts: 51

    Anyone got any idea why my core clocks drop down from 1620mhz to 1400mhz when going past 65c core temp ? Using the vega 64 on water.

    It's like it's thermal throttling but doesn't make sense at that kinda temp, Even the frametimes in games get's all messed up going up down up down.
     
  13. Grog

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2019

    Posts: 30

    How are your VRM temps?
     
  14. Grog

    Associate

    Joined: 5 Feb 2019

    Posts: 30

    My Ref Vega 64 had a noticeable amount of coil whine (a loud buzzing under load). It has gotten a little more quiet over time now, and I can't notice it with my headphones on.
     
  15. iamcll

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2017

    Posts: 51

    Last edited: 5 Mar 2019
  16. flea.rider

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,006

    hot spot temp 106 it's throttling ...
     
  17. iamcll

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2017

    Posts: 51

    Heres the odd thing though, 110c with the air cooler the gpu would be at 85c max 330w all the time and it never throttled, Watercooling in temps are better yet this time throttling, Got any suggestions ?

    This has been a somewhat recent issue.
     
    Last edited: 5 Mar 2019
  18. Davedree

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2010

    Posts: 3,049

    If you have a reference vega64 and you are using an lc bios, then since 19.2.1 you will have throttling issues, have to go to back to 19.1.2 or go back to a v64 air bios.

    However if not the bios, then your temps are terrible for watercooling, what block are you using, what thermal paste, and what rad are you using
     
  19. iamcll

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2017

    Posts: 51

    Using the default bios, Watercooling is the alphacool eiswolf 120mm rad with 2 fans 1 push 1 pull, I think the thermal paste was artic silver 5 or somthing along that line.
     
  20. Davedree

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2010

    Posts: 3,049

    Ok, that block is reasonably good, i'm wondering if you need to reapply the Tim, early vega dies had uneven height problems with the core and hbm, i'd at least loosen and retighten the mounting plate.
    When I had high high hot spot temps for me it was due to the tim having failed.
    With that block you should see core temp 50-60c at 1.05v and hotspot 70-80c

    Those temps you posted what app or game was running at the time.