1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2009

    Posts: 21,103

    That it was a bug/exploit and unintended, there were a couple of workarounds to overclock the HBM on Fiji but it was supposed to be disabled in the driver.

    One of the cheats was to manually edit an Afterburner profile and then it would apply the clocks in that profile (even though you couldn't set them normally). Also sometimes every few reboots the slider would magically appear in the drivers (on some versions) even though it wan't supposed too, this allowed the HBM to be overclocked until reboot.
     
  2. Dave2150

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 31 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,882

    I hope the mods delete all these Fiji related posts - this is supposed to be the Vega owners thread. Politely, shove off to a Fiji thread with your ramblings.
     
  3. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 706

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    Just adding content to my thread now :) . It may have been a bug very early on, I got Fiji ~6-8mths after release and then did bios mod thread on OCN. And I assure I had a slider permanently and how this was will be explained in thread. I am typing info now, please view when my thread is bumped with new post, please post there, I'd appreciate it :) .
     
    Last edited: 23 Aug 2017
  4. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 22,376

    Location: Devon, UK

    600W PSU here and I get instability in balanced mode. Problem seems to go away in Power Save.

    Oddly it can loop Firestrike for hours on balanced with no issues but fire up something like Doom and I get a crash about once per 30-45 mins.
     
  5. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2013

    Posts: 9,018

    Location: Knowhere

    It should be fine with an aircooled card, But as I mentioned before I think we'll find that power requirements with Vega can vary a lot from chip to chip.
     
  6. EVH

    Don

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,180

    Location: Wales

    As Dave2150 kindly pointed out, can we keep all discussion about Fiji in its own thread. Further off-topic posts will be deleted
     
  7. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,469

    Location: London

    Could you do a 1440p video as well Matt?
     
  8. Roughneck

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,585

    Location: Aberdeen

    [​IMG]

    Here's my sweet little baby £450 well spent
    Sapphire tech RX Radeon 64
    As rock x99
    64gb ram
    Crucial 1tb ssd
    Intel 5820k
    Dragonfly Black Dac , you can just about see it green lit up

    I know the cable are a mess but I don't have a window so don't mind

    Only problem I've encountered so far is I had some strange mouse lag I seem to have sorted this by changing the mouse polling rate in the mouse drivers and the back again Roccat kone XT mouse
     
  9. Sybra

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 36

    any news on Vega crossfire?
     
  10. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Nov 2013

    Posts: 270

    Location: Southampton

    I have two AIO's coming today so very interested in this. Is there an ETA for Xfire support?
     
  11. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

    i'm baffled people buy crossfire (or SLI) twice in their lifetime, its utter wang.
     
  12. old gamer

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2011

    Posts: 4,457

    Location: bristol

    there was a time when it was actually quite good, my 7970 crossfire and 980 sli setups were pretty epic when I had them
     
  13. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Nov 2013

    Posts: 270

    Location: Southampton

    When you want to run 11535x2160 resolution for gaming, there is no other option. I don't think one single card will run that for the foreseeable future at least.

    TBH these 2 vega probably wont manage it either, but I'm having a go!

    :)
     
  14. AmateurExpert

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Aug 2017

    Posts: 415

    Location: location location

    [​IMG]
     
  15. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 May 2009

    Posts: 21,103

    Thats the res of three 4K screens.

    Some games look really cool across three monitors, like driving/flight sims. I can run my monitors in 6400x1080 if I don't mind the bezels and it's epic for flight sims (lame for most game types admittedly).
     
    Last edited: 23 Aug 2017
  16. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Nov 2013

    Posts: 270

    Location: Southampton

    I'm about as serious as spending £1400 on graphics cards gets!
     
  17. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship


    Welcome and on TROH.:)


    The Roll of Honour.
    [​IMG]


    Date 23/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Roughneck, Link
    Date 21/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, diziet, Link
    Date 19/08/2017, Make Reference Air, CapitalOne, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, NathG79, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Chrisc, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Richeh, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, DazQ87, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Smudge, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ChosenName, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, mattyc123, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, WhistleBlower07, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Chewie, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, nashathedog, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, heartburnron, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, vanpeebles, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Morve, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Howling, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Apache14, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Dianbobo, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ubersonic, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, AMDMatt, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, TonyTurbo78, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, MDPlatts, Link


    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Vega 64.

     
  18. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Nov 2013

    Posts: 270

    Location: Southampton

    Yes I spend most of my time in driving or flight sims. ETS2 & ATS and Elite Dangerous are all high on the agenda too! And many FPS games play fine once you have the FOV sorted.
     
  19. Sybra

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 36

    I am still awaiting my 2 black air Vegas, must be a south coast thing (Bournemouth) :D
     
  20. TonyTurbo78

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Sep 2013

    Posts: 10,146

    Location: West End, Southampton

    I think something from EK might have been delivered ;)