1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. Trick

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Oct 2003

    Posts: 3,548

    Location: York

    I'm quite happy with my undervolted Vega64 with mem at 1050. CP2077 at 1440p with most stuff set to high, few things on medium and i'm getting between 30-50fps. it'd be ideal to be pushing more towards 60fps but I'm content enough to not want to rush out an buy a 3080 or whatever just yet. Havent tried the FidelityFX stuff just yet so might give that a whirl
     
  2. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    Same here quite happy. 1700/1100 for myself 1440p medium settings 50-60fps chugging along nicely though had to restart after a fresh windows install,so only just restarted
     
  3. eeii

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Feb 2017

    Posts: 627

    Location: Mondas

    Been using 1652/1180 which has been fine with some reduced settings. I did try resolution at 85% but found it looked a tad to soft to me.
     
  4. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Jun 2009

    Posts: 24,702

    Vega 56 here but also done the same with HBCC, has worked wonders!
     
  5. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    bit of a long shot but does anyone know the size of the screws that hold in the fans of the nitro??
    thx
     
    Last edited: 27 Feb 2021
  6. Mr Evil

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jul 2015

    Posts: 240

    If you mean the four screws at each corner of the card that hold the entire fan+shroud assembly, then they are M2x4.5 countersunk.
     
  7. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    no sorry i should have been much clearer, i mean the screws that hold the fans on sorry
     
  8. Mr Evil

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jul 2015

    Posts: 240

    I took one off but I can't identify it. The thread diameter is 1.95mm, and the pitch is about 0.6mm (hard to measure exactly because there are so few threads). It's too coarse to be a metric size.
     
  9. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    cheers, guess its take it to a pc shop when open see if got one, as thought broke me fan as blade come away from housing, but after investigating its fine:cool: but still leaving off for time being as thermals better
     
  10. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    which side is which for the bios switch on the nitro, atm its in furest away from gpu ports, i want to try flash a 56 onto it

    thx
     
  11. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,668

    Location: London

    At least for reference cards I believe it's the switch towards the ports, for the 'faster' bios.
    afaik it only changes the board power limit, so you can use something like GPUZ to see which position gives the highest reading.
    Under Advanced tab, general.
     
    Last edited: 8 Apr 2021
  12. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    thx
     
  13. MCFC_ANDY

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 989

    other way round on this, nearer is lower bandwidth, so im guessing thats the default one, its been on the performance one since owned in 3yrs ago lol
     
  14. teth

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2015

    Posts: 114

    Can anyone help with settings for undervolt please? I had a nice 975mV that I got from this thread once but now can't find it. It was faster than stock and only pulled 170/200W.
     
  15. Proto

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2011

    Posts: 918

    Location: London

    Until AMD fix the clock discrepancy between Windows Fast Start Up being enabled and disabled, which translates to 25 MHz higher clocks when disabled (or just after a system restart), it's pretty difficult trying to provide accurate and stable under volt setting.

    However, assuming Windows is in the default state, i.e. Fast Start UP enabled, the following should provide good results.
    [​IMG]

    Also, note that Vega voltages actually increase in 6.25 mV increments, and entered voltages just revert to the closest actual number at or above the figure entered. In the above scenario, actual voltages would be 950 mV, 956.25 mV, 962.5 mV, 968.75 mV, 975 mV etc., so 970 mV translates to 975 mV actual.
     
    Last edited: 16 Apr 2021
  16. teth

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2015

    Posts: 114

    Thanks. What if Fast start up is disabled?
     
  17. Proto

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Jun 2011

    Posts: 918

    Location: London

    I would manually change only the p7 clocks to 1600 MHz, which should result in approximately the same under load clocks as having Fast Stat Up enabled and active (system started from a shutdown state).
     
  18. teth

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Feb 2015

    Posts: 114

    Thanks
     
  19. plasmahal

    Suspended

    Joined: 5 Feb 2006

    Posts: 4,349

    Morning,

    Up until last week (before it got hot again) My Sapphire Radeon RX VEGA 64 Nitro+ 8GB HBM2 has run fine since I got the system in December 2018.

    I don't overclock and the system is well placed for ventilation.

    I am now getting black screen crashes playing RB6 and also on Titanfall2.

    I assumed it was heat related but after getting the temps down (found the fan settings in radeon app) and also cold booted and launched game and it crashed straight away, these black screen crashes happen when it feels like but only in games.

    It seems that degradation of the HYNIX HBMA memory could be the cause.

    I need to ask OCUK if the card is still under warranty.

    Is there anyway to get the card stable (undervolting) or is it on it's last legs?

    Luckily, I kept my R9 290 card so that runs OK, no issues.

    P.S.

    System spec if that helps.

    OcUK Gaming Zenith Gaming PC - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X

    Sapphire Radeon RX VEGA 64 Nitro+ 8GB HBM2 PCI-Express Graphics Card
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2-2280 PCI-e 3.0 x 4 NVMe QLC 3D NAND Solid State Drive (SSDPEKNW512G8X1)
    Phanteks Eclipse P400S Glass Midi Tower Case - Noise Dampened Black/Red
    Gigabyte Aorus RGB 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 PC4-25600C16 3200MHz Dual/Quad Channel Kit

    The PSU was replaced with an 850w after having some initial power issues after receiving the system.
     
  20. alec

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Dec 2016

    Posts: 1,231

    Location: Oxford

    That is a bold pinpoint claim to make from these symptoms. Need specific tests that load memory and core separately to confirm.

    But something has degraded. Could be as trivial as thermal pad obetween vrm and heatsink, could be some capacitors on the board. Could be the chip.

    Not much you can do.
    Check temps in GpuZ or HWInfo64, maybe spot something obvious.
    For diagnostics also try lowering power slider in radeon app. That would achieve two goals, lower load on power delivery circuits and some headroom for temperatures to perhaps crash more slowly.

    But in the end, prepare to spend a while with your old trusted friend R9 290