1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. Jimmy Weirdarms

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2017

    Posts: 1,020

    Oh wow, so this might make for a much quieter, cooler card. Can I ask if you adjusted the power limits or just the voltages to get here?
    I've been tweaking the Core voltages and power limit to achieve cooler running, but with some reduced performance. I guess this is because the core voltages weren't actually being applied as I hadn't touched the memory voltage, and it was running into power limits. Hmmm, there's more to play with before writing this off as just a hot, noisy card then.
     
  2. jaffveyda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Sep 2010

    Posts: 1,119

    Location: Hay May Land

    I might get
    I was thinking that, my eyes were set on Vega 56 but I don't like blower style cards. But on the other hand if I wont get at release later the price will increase for sure.
     
  3. pmc25

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Nov 2010

    Posts: 2,314

    To do 1630Mhz locked solid (stock boost) in benchmarks I need between +10% and +20% for stable, and with 1100Mhz HBM2 clock (stock is 945Mhz). It's at 950mV GPU core (down from stock 1200mV). At these voltage and clocks, it is stable down to -10% power limit, there is just some throttling; unlike Fiji which once you start overclocking (or making sure it doesn't throttle) will suck almost whatever power limit you throw at it, Vega it just seems to need the little extra occasionally. I think people are just used to Fiji and some extent Polaris - hence why everyone (including reviewers) are throwing +50% at it; completely unnecessary at least in my case.

    My card, at these settings, lies about half way between a 1080 and 1080Ti (much closer to the latter in some games), and less power consumption than a stock 1080.

    I suspect it's partly the bad early drivers and need of firmware revisions, but I have to step up voltage quite quickly even for 10Mhz increments above 1630Mhz. There shouldn't be the same kind of process 'wall' as with Zen, at these lower clocks - should be thermal limits. Will see how it behaves once on water, but I don't think the drivers and firmware are really designed to be efficient beyond the stock clock yet ...... and it is ridiculously efficient at stock clocks (HBM OC'd) once undervolted.
     
  4. djbully

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Nov 2013

    Posts: 270

    Location: Southampton

    RE7 looks amazing wish i picked it up the other day on sale....

    Does if play as good as it looks?
     
  5. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,718

    Location: United Kingdom

    Yes plays lovely on Vega, so much better than playing it on the Pro Duo with only 4GB of HBM. This game drinks video memory for fun, saw 7.3GB at maximum settings (shadow cache on) at 3440x1440.

    I've not really played it properly yet as i was waiting for Vega to get into it so i could max out the settings. I will start properly this weekend.
     
  6. Kmodo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2006

    Posts: 2,237

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Can I be added to the Roll of Honour? RX VEGA 64 Air cooled Reference. Purchased from OcUK on the 14th arrived 15th :)
     
  7. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship

    We can not see your pic.
     
  8. Kmodo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2006

    Posts: 2,237

    now?
     
  9. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship


    Welcome and on TROH.:)



    The Roll of Honour.
    [​IMG]


    Date 24/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Kmodo, Link
    Date 23/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Dave2150, Link
    Date 23/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Roughneck, Link
    Date 21/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, diziet, Link
    Date 19/08/2017, Make Reference Air, CapitalOne, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, NathG79, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Chrisc, Link
    Date 18/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Richeh, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, DazQ87, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Smudge, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ChosenName, Link
    Date 17/08/2017, Make Reference Air, mattyc123, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, WhistleBlower07, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Chewie, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, nashathedog, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, heartburnron, Link
    Date 16/08/2017, Make Reference Air, vanpeebles, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Morve, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Howling, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, Apache14, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, Dianbobo, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, ubersonic, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, AMDMatt, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference Air, TonyTurbo78, Link
    Date 15/08/2017, Make Reference AIO, MDPlatts, Link


    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Vega 64.

     
  10. Kmodo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2006

    Posts: 2,237

    Thanks! :cool:
     
  11. Morve

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 May 2017

    Posts: 459

    Only that i wish it wasn't a blower :)
     
  12. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,024

    Location: In a house

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Nice pic of the Strix so I added it to the OP.:)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. pmc25

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Nov 2010

    Posts: 2,314

    Does anyone else get a freeze of 2-3 seconds (not crash type freeze, just temporary lock up) every single time a Flash or HTML5 video initially loads in (doesn't happen after the player initially loading?
     
  15. Richeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2003

    Posts: 3,097

    Location: South East Coast

    @Kaapstad can remove me from the TROH as my Vega has been sent back and replaced with a 1080Ti as per the Ti thread :)
     
  16. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 30,702

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Done.:)
     
  17. Chewie

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 552

    Location: London

    No such issue here, no.
     
  18. pmc25

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Nov 2010

    Posts: 2,314

    Does it in Opera & Chrome, not in FireFox.
     
  19. Kmodo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2006

    Posts: 2,237

    None! Sold my R9 390 Gaming for £300 last month so was a significant upgrade for £150. PC lives under the stairs these days so I don't hear it and I have a freesync monitor


    :p
     
  20. TonyTurbo78

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Sep 2013

    Posts: 10,146

    Location: West End, Southampton

    Anyone know how to add images from a phone now lol. Don't seem to be working for me.

    Took some pics today whilst I was putting on the EK FC