1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. heartburnron

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2016

    Posts: 2,786

    Location: East Lothian

    My core defaults to 1750 in the turbo profile although I haven't seen it boost past 1704 since updating to the latest drivers. I've just ran some tests there, Timespy crashed on Graphics Test 1 at both 1100 and 1095. I tried it at both 1075 and 1090 and whilst these completed the TimeSpy bench both produed a graphics score of around 7850 which is less than the score of 8045 I got when running the memory at 1045Mz. It isn't uncommon for performance to reduce when pushing clocks too high so it might be worth seeing if you actually get better scores by lowering your memory clock a bit? Or it could be just my card...
     
  2. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,718

    Location: United Kingdom

    It seems like the core clock fluctuation between states is expected. I'll try to provide a bit more information on this once i have it and fully understand it myself.
     
  3. 1Deep

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Dec 2009

    Posts: 515

    Location: Wolverhampton

    Vega 64 has just arrived, will get to testing shortly :)
     
  4. TonyTurbo78

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Sep 2013

    Posts: 10,146

    Location: West End, Southampton

    NICE ONE BRUVA!!!

    Time to start getting the EK goodies, tubing, Pump, rad, fittings :) exciting dude.
     
  5. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,718

    Location: United Kingdom

    [​IMG]
     
  6. heartburnron

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2016

    Posts: 2,786

    Location: East Lothian

    That would be great Matt. I understand there were issues with the reported clocks in the early drivers but shouldn't the AOI cards still be boosting up to 1750 in Turbo profile?
     
  7. 1Deep

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Dec 2009

    Posts: 515

    Location: Wolverhampton

    No video output upon booting, hmm, gputach had a red light.

    Not the best start!

    Edit: sorted, probably my displayport cable as it's working via hdmi. This stock fan is quite noisy at idle, will have to do something about that.
     
  8. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,718

    Location: United Kingdom

    Clock fluctutation is a feature of ACG = Advanced Clock Generator, which is enabled for DPM states 5/6/7. It will naturally fluctuate when there are current spikes. When current spikes occur voltage droops, to avoid instability during the droop, frequency must be decreased to match. This is why you see the fluctuation in the frequency.

    To maximise highest possible performance, set +50% power limit + increase state 7 frequency, and voltage if required. I use state 6 as stock max boost frequency and undervolt by -0.075mv. This works well for me Vega and allows a nice perf increase over stock boost clock/voltage (1752Mhz)

    I recommend enabling HBCC too globally, even with just 16GB of system memory.
     
    Last edited: 30 Aug 2017
  9. heartburnron

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2016

    Posts: 2,786

    Location: East Lothian

    Thanks for that. I tried matching your settings and saw the core clock boost to 1740 running Time Spy. It didn't quite reach 1700 running the Rise of The Tomb Raider benchmark so I guess it doesn't push it so hard. If this is how it's supposed to behave then fair enough - it just seemed simpler to follow on the 2 previous drivers when it appeared to boost up to the actual clock frequency you set but if that wasn't being reported accurately then so be it. Oddly enough I keep getting more favourable benches in both Time Spy and ROTR when I have the memory clocked closer to 1050 than 1100...
     
  10. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Jul 2007

    Posts: 34,718

    Location: United Kingdom

    I tend to use 1050Mhz mostly. One of my cards is not stable with undervolting at 1100. Performance difference is only a couple of percent if that between the clocks anyway.

    Enable HBCC and you may find some benchmark scores increase. Superposition and Firestrike to name but two.
     
  11. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

  12. heartburnron

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2016

    Posts: 2,786

    Location: East Lothian

    Haven't tried Firestrike for a while. Have you tried Timespy at 1050? My scores seem to reduce when I go past that...
     
  13. heartburnron

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2016

    Posts: 2,786

    Location: East Lothian

    Haven't tried Firestrike yet but TimeSpy doesn't seem to like HBCC for me. It crashed when I tried it with the beta drivers and it crashed when I just tired it again this afternoon.

    No noticeable benefit with HBCC on for the ROTR benchmark although on a complete side note, I'm getting an extra 3 FPS on the benchmark in DX12 with Vega where before my Fury X got a lower score with DX12.
     
  14. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Nov 2011

    Posts: 19,840

    Location: The KOP

    Yep can't wait to start. First I upgrading my CPU with either Ryzen 7 or ThreadRipper 8 core
     
  15. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,667

    Location: London

    [​IMG]

    :D

    Will be hard on the ears coming from a Tri-X Fury but hope to put a 3rd party cooler on it somewhere down the line.
    Going to install it in a bit and see if it gives me that bit more umph at 1440p, 4GB to 8GB should be nice. :)

    Will probs just run it as is for a few days but will then start o/c'ing etc.
    Need to catch up on the thread but any particular posts peeps can link for me to look at would be great. Ta.
     
  16. schneeb

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2016

    Posts: 242

    slower again, with the GPU-Z beta you can see that HBM overclock does need a fair amount of power so you could be hitting the power limit with the power hungry core clock?
     
  17. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 706

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    Sadly I will not join members on shares of VEGA 1st hand experience.

    Dunno if I will regret it, been on AMD for ~10yrs GPU wise. I didn't go VEGA. I had waited for VEGA.

    Sort of pricing put me off plus other things, 'all features' aren't enabled in driver currently, I'm thinking how long is the wait going to be? will it benefit all gaming and how much by?

    If bios modding had been open I would have gone VEGA 56 with a water block and been happy with it. I think that was the nail in the coffin that moved me to buy a GTX 1080 plus how I felt AMD have gimped Fiji. Even though bios mod is not open on nVidia there were other reasons for the purchase that made it work for me.

    Will miss FreeSync, but not swapping out the MG279Q. Will keep an eye on what occurs with VEGA so may revisit AMD again.
     
  18. Engy Benjie

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Aug 2011

    Posts: 186

    I have also received a shipping notice. Exciting times :)
     
  19. netti86

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Aug 2017

    Posts: 6

    Has anyone got a sapphire limited edition vega 64 from pre order yet? i'm waiting for a whole system and i have to wait till vega is back in stock for them to ship it. they told me from 28th but now the dates have vanished.press keep saying lucky if you get one before october.
     
  20. game4it

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2008

    Posts: 369

    Location: Dublin,Ireland

    Does the Powercolor card have the same warrenty void sticker like the Sapphire cards?
    Thanks.