1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poll: *** The Snow Leopard Thread - All Related Posts In Here ***

Discussion in 'Apple Software' started by Conrad11, 3 Aug 2009.

?

Are you going to upgrade to Snow Leopard?

  1. Yes indeedy, that I am.

    236 vote(s)
    85.2%
  2. No sir, not a chance.

    41 vote(s)
    14.8%
  1. gobbo

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,862

    Just checked order status for my UTD copy of SL and it says:

    Estimated Delivery: By August 28th

    So I should have it to install and have a play with this weekend!
     
  2. Dr Delphi

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,359

    Location: Suffolk

    Slighty OT but whenever I put my details in for the UTD I get to the basket and there is nothing in there - I bought my MBP from the apple online education store so am I missing a trick? Or should I contact apple support?
     
  3. Spyhop

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 6,511

    Location: Cold waters

    The process should be working for you.

    Contact support - but I think someone else on here said that they have monkeys manning the phones.
     
  4. Dangerous Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Oct 2006

    Posts: 3,377

    If you go through the link for bought at a Apple Store (http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObjects/ukstore?&partNumber=MC204Z/A) and use the address from the top left of the invoice which is in Ireland it will let you order the upgrade online. I had the same problem with a Mac ordered through the Education Store but it went through fine using the address and serial number.
     
    Last edited: 25 Aug 2009
  5. Dr Delphi

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,359

    Location: Suffolk

    Legend! Thanks - don't know why they haven't put anything anywhere to explain that - there'll be a lot of people who bought macs online who won't be able to work out how to claim their UTD discs.
     
  6. NickK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 19,118

    For those little snitchers out there:
    Snow Leopard 32 bit kernel => works with existing version
    Snow Leopard 64 bit kernel => is broken by SL upgrade, will need this version to work.
     
    Last edited: 26 Aug 2009
  7. Spyhop

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 6,511

    Location: Cold waters

    64bit as in Snow Leopard booted with the 64bit kernel?
     
  8. NickK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 19,118

    Yup.

    Also clarified it means kernel in the previous post.
     
  9. rp2000

    Capo Baston

    Joined: 11 Nov 2002

    Posts: 82,090

    Location: Barcelona

    If I get Snow Leopard this week, I plan to do a clean install on my early 2008 MBP. I will probably do a time machine backup and then selectively restore apps and documents after the OS is installed.

    Anyone know what to do re iTunes? When I did a clean install of Leopard I just backed up the whole iTunes folder, installed new OS, opened iTunes, closed iTunes, restored old iTunes folder, re-opened iTunes.

    Anyone using the developer version of 10.6 and can verify if this works?


    rp2000
     
  10. markyb

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: Essex

    rp, did that work fine previously in Leopard? I've always been a little worried about restoring the iTunes folder as had issues on Windows boxes e.t.c.
     
  11. kicks66

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,866

    Yer, im concerned for iTunes as well.
    If I back it up using Time Machine will it keep everything? Like playlists, play count, rating, unembedded artwork etc? Are there other ways of doing this?
     
  12. NickK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 19,118

    If you've not done anything odd with the locations then Time Machine will store it all.

    I've restored iTunes from TM before for a fresh install.

    iTunes stores it's stuff under specific directories so you could just back those up. You may need to play with the authorisation.
     
  13. kicks66

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,866

    If i restore from time machine, can I just restore itunes? I dont want to restore all the documents and settings and stuff of non-itunes things.
     
  14. LordSplodge

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2004

    Posts: 16,028

    Location: 9th Inner Circle

    Naw it will be like the Leopard upgrade disk. It sees Tiger (or in the case of SL - Leopard) on the disk and does the install. You can even do an Erase and Install although they have moved it in Snow Leopard.

    Orderd yesterday by the way! :cool:
     
  15. LordSplodge

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2004

    Posts: 16,028

    Location: 9th Inner Circle

    I restore my user folder from Time Machine. Re-install any apps (the settings are kept as I restored my user folder) and then copy my iTunes *back from an external disk (NAS in my case) rather than use Time Machine for the iTunes restore.


    * Time Machine is set to exclude the iTune folder to save space on the Time Machine volume.
     
  16. rp2000

    Capo Baston

    Joined: 11 Nov 2002

    Posts: 82,090

    Location: Barcelona

    Yes. My MBP had Leopard, used it for 9 months, did the backup and re-installed form the DVDs. I think you have to open iTunes once on the new install, for it to generate some folders, and then you overwrite with your old folder form Time machine or any other backup. It retained all info including play counts of tracks.
    Just drag back the iTunes folder form your Time Machine backup. To me this isn't a restore really as you are just copying a folder. You do not need Time Machine for this. Just copy your whole iTunes folder to the backup device/method of your choice, and copy back after installing SL. This is the best way to avoid copying back any crap from your old install and just getting your iTunes related stuff back.


    rp2000
     
  17. Velocity

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Apr 2003

    Posts: 1,621

    Location: UK - Milton Keynes

    Quick Question.

    On Safari if you are running a proxy server, you obviously had to put in your password which works fine however when your active directory password changes you have to currently go back in and change it. Where as on a Windows PC you can just change the password and it is all happy.

    Any idea if they have addressed this issue once you have joined the Mac to Active Directory? I'm hoping that option just won't be there and it works seamlessly but somehow I doubt it.

    Thanks
    Velocity
     
  18. JonB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Oct 2006

    Posts: 2,304

    Location: London

    Hope they dish out t-shirts again at the stores, like they did with leopard!
     
  19. NickK

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2003

    Posts: 19,118

    *twiddles thumbs* Tell me it's in the post already! Grrr..
     
  20. J1234

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,800

    Expect to receive despatch emails shortly, if it's going to be anything like the Leopard release.