1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Think I need to RMA a AMD Ryzen 3700X

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Coopson, 2 Dec 2020.

  1. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    Hey all I got a 3700X from OcUK when they came out last year and for a while now I've been getting crashers in games at default motherboard settings and its failing prime95 blend test within 5 mins and bsoding on Small FFT within 60 seconds temps are fine I have a Arctic Liquid Freezer II on it.

    Its in a B450 Tomahawk I got that at the same time from OcUK too, I don't have another AMD motherboard to stick it in to test so I cant be 100% sure its not the motherboard but I've tested the ram and its fine, I'm pretty sure its the CPU, I'm on the latest bios and I've even tried flashing back to older bio's and new windows install.

    Should I start a RMA with OcUK? and should I send both the Motherboard and CPU?? I didn't keep the CPU case so I don't know how I'd send that back alone still have the motherboard box tho
     
  2. Tetras

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 3,519

    How did you test the RAM? I'd have expected that to be faulty more than the CPU. Did you try with the RAM at 2666?

    I wouldn't be sending the motherboard in myself, pretty unlikely to be the problem.
     
  3. Doogles

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2014

    Posts: 3,941

    Had a 3700x that wasn't stable at stock at all kept getting straight reboots/BSOD and all sorts of nasties. Verified that it was the CPU by changing a couple of voltages (IIRC it was related to the SOC) so RMA'ed with AMD which took a week, Prime95 was the way I knew it was unstable your symptoms sounds exactly the same as mine.

    With AMD they should e-mail you a returns label to the Netherlands once they confirm the RMA.

    (Make sure the entire PC is stock though, including RAM)
     
  4. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    I booted into memtest64 and tested the ram no errors.
    Yeah I get prime errors at all stock, what did you send your back in ? I've no longer got the box.
     
  5. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    Thinking about it I could just stick it in antistatic bag and stick it in a envelope, gonna suck having no cpu for week+ plus its xmas so it might be longer
     
  6. eeii

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Feb 2017

    Posts: 587

    Location: Mondas

    That could be a problem as the pins are very delicate.
     
  7. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    Damn first AMD CPU I'm used to intel not having pins...
     
  8. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    Hmm and looking for CPU holders and for some reason a case holder that hangs off the desk are called CPU holders, wut?
     
  9. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,122

    The plastic protective trays that the CPU was supplied in are available from a well known auction site for very little, that’s the bare minimum you need, after that a small cardboard box and some bubble wrap should suffice, it’s not like you are paying for the postage.
     
  10. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    Thx shipping gonna be at least a week on one of them gonna end up sending it near xmas I'm sure that wont hold it up at all :(
     
  11. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,122

    1-3 days for delivery isn't a week, but sending a CPU back as you suggest could result in the RMA being declined. Your choice :)
     
  12. Coopson

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2011

    Posts: 174

    I forgot what day we were on I'm thinking it was Monday, I've already ordered a holder I've got box's and crap from 10 years ago saved thats useless now but I toss the 3700X box..