1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Think my graphics card has died! help needed

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by *HotDog*, 5 Mar 2006.

  1. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    Was on my computer today just playing footy manager! and suddenly my screen cuts out and the monitor light starts flashing! the computer was still on i could open the cd drives. tried turning it off and on but nothing, then took everything out and cleaned it and the same thing happens. i switch it on and it just starts to loads up but the monitor does nothing just the green little light on it flashes!
    just want to check if theres anything else i can do before i buy a new graphics card?
     
  2. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Clear the CMOS? That might be worth a shot.
     
  3. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    ok cool! but how do i do that? im a basic pc user
     
  4. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,626

    Location: Nottingham

    there should be a jumper on the motherboard. you need to switch its position.... wait.... and switch it back and then switch on your pc.
    It basically puts the cmos back to when it was originally put on.
     
  5. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    ok tried it and it hasnt worked! so would i be safe to assume that my graphics card has fried?? if so is this a good replacement to my 9800pro?? BFG GeForce 6800 GS OC 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI (AGP)
     
  6. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    could it be my cpu?
     
  7. malccy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: Torquay, Devon, UK

    Would try a different monitor and also a different graphics card. Another thing worth doing would be to check that no cables have come loose inside case etc.
     
  8. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    tried different monitor and tried the jumper settings thing again so! but i havent got a spare graphics card and all my mates have laptops!

    if it was my cpu would my computer even switch on?
     
  9. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Erm, take out the battery... for a min or 2 the mobo one.. looks like a watch battery
     
  10. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    done that as well mate!
     
  11. malccy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 1,907

    Location: Torquay, Devon, UK

    Any beeps when switch pc on - and can you hear the fans spinning?
     
  12. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 2,327

    Location: west sussex

    you should really try your GFX card in another pc before b uying new just incase its something else like PSU output failure, ram module dieing, or m/board failure. if you have a friend who has a working PC with AGP port ask and see if he will try the card out for you. may save you in the long run and would give you a sure awnser as to your GFX (maybe failure)
     
  13. *HotDog*

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 196

    Location: Totnes (Devon)

    yea the fans turn on and run and the lights go on and everything! and get that beep aswell at the start! trying to take my card over to someones who might have a pc!! if i try my card in someone else pc and it doesnt work then thats pretty much 100% my graphics card?
     
  14. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,923

    Location: In a house

    Yeah if it doesn't work in theirs then its a goner, 6800 GS is a good upgrade from the 9800pro. :)