1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking of Pentium D 805 and conroe what mobo?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by sgoaty, 4 Jun 2006.

  1. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,226

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Well I was thinking of picking up a pentium D 805 to brush up on my intel skills before conroe comes along. I was wondering what motherboard would be reccomended to get the best out of both of these cpus? I have heard that the only current chipset worth getting for conroe is the 975x so it will probably have to be based on that
    cheers
    Scott
     
  2. Torch [P4]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,141

    Location: Elgin

    just bought my 805 on friday from OCUK :D and am also wondering *** board to buy with the conroe in mind as my company is getting 2 sample conroe chips very shortly which we are allowed to keep

    i think the Asus P5WDE2 Premium is going to be my first choice but id like to hear other peoples thoughts (with overclocking in mind) :D
     
  3. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,639

    Location: Dorset

    You could go for the P5WD2E but it wont support conroe.
     
  4. Sumanji

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Mar 2003

    Posts: 8,145

    Location: Charlotte, NC

    Try and find an MSI 975X Platinum Rev 2.B
     
  5. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,226

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    What about the Abit AW8D i975x ?
     
  6. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Only Conroe mobo available in the UK at the moment is the Intel Bad Axe i975x v304.
     
  7. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,639

    Location: Dorset

    Precisely. The Abit AW9D will support Conroe, I'm waiting for that :D
     
  8. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    8 or 9? ;)
     
  9. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,639

    Location: Dorset

    sgoaty knows the AW8D doesn't supprt conroe and never will, he's just messin with ya.
     
  10. Jay_t

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 714

    Location: The Lake District

    If you hadn't already bought the chip, I'd say wait until Conroe is out. The boards are bound to be revised over the next few weeks. I'll wait for whichever DFI board is being given the Oskar Wu treatment. :)
     
  11. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,226

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    LOL

    I picked up a cheap Asus P5ND2-SLi Deluxe (£40) that should do me untill there are a better choice of conroe boards. Looks like this d805 could be my full time rig for a while as my opty 165 is not working out
     
  12. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,047

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    At the risk of getting flamed I believe the ASRock 775TWINS V2.0 supports Conroe - mine has "Conroe" in gold letters on the PCB.
     
  13. split

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,534

    Location: Dorset

    I see it here..

    LGA 775 for Intel® Dual Core Pentium® XE / Pentium® D and Pentium® 4 / Celeron® D, supporting Core™ 2 Duo Desktop (Conroe), Presler and Cedar Mill processors
     
  14. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,639

    Location: Dorset

    Isn't memory performance on non-intel chipsets pretty poopy though?
     
  15. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,796

    Location: Autonomy


    Its a bad clocker though so it sort of defeats the object
     
  16. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,047

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    I disagree - the biggest drawback is the lack of voltage adjustment on the CPU - but the 805 only needs big volts to get the last 200-300MHz out of it. Most will do 3.3-3.5GHz on stock volts and as the FSB is under 200 at that, then the single channel memory is not such an issue as you can run DDR2 stuff at much tighter timings.

    And it's only £33+VAT so the price is definitely right.
     
  17. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,226

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I think the clocking issue was more a problem on conroe mate
     
  18. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,047

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    No-one here has yet seen a conroe, let alone a decent clocking conroe motherboard, so it still seems a valid statement.
     
  19. sgoaty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,226

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Ok how about this then mate I bet you £10 this board cant overclock a conroe better than a dfi/abit when they comes out. Not saying its a bad board its just not a clockers board and never will be thats why asrock arent called asus
     
  20. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,047

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    I take your point completely - but he wants a board now that will work with an 805 and Conroe. I bet he'll get a 500-700MHz increase in FSB clock at stock volts with this motherboard and he has a farr chance of getting a moderate to decent clock out of his Conroe too. And at £125 for the 805/775TWINS pair, they're pretty much disposable in terms of depreciation.

    And there is no guarantee that Intel will not 'hobble' the new motherboards like they did with the 915 and 925 chipsets where anything more than a 10% overclock just failed to boot.

    It wasn't until 925XE that most manufacturers found a way to overcome the PCIe ratio issue that Intel had built in to stop people overclocking the cheaper units and force them to buy the more expensive one for higher clock speeds.

    Anyway - I think I've probably got to the point where I'm blathering, so I'll stop :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: 10 Jun 2006