1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Thinking of switching to dual core

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Joebob, 9 Mar 2006.

  1. Joebob

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Sep 2005

    Posts: 5,900

    Location: Burbage, Hinckley

    I have an AMD 4000+ at present (S939) which I have clocked to 2.64ghz.

    I use this system at work and do a lot of multitasking, as well as playing games etc, so I have been thinking of switching to a dual core.

    Can anyone recomend me a decent one which is still failry overclockable?
     
  2. Squidge

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,185

    Opty 165 or 170 depending on how much you want to spend.
     
  3. Clown

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,087

    Location: London

    Will it be better than what he has though?
     
  4. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    If he gets them to 2.6ghz dual (pretty easy on the Opti's), yes.
     
  5. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Agreed: Go for the Opteron 165 or 170.
     
  6. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    I would say wait for Conroe :p
     
  7. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    That would mean a new motherboard, new RAM and probably BTX PSU (8 pin power over square 4 pin) - not really viable seeing as all he needs for DC is a CPU.
     
  8. Etaqua

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2005

    Posts: 478

    You should be able to get higher than 2.64GHz on the dual core opties since they're made with better wafers than the 4000+. :)

    If you aren't in a rush to upgrade, you could wait for Conroe to come out, or M2. That will be quite a while away, but if you have a 4000+, the rest of your system probably won't be anywhere near obsolete. :p

    Btw, the link in your signature doesn't work.
     
  9. kibble

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Mar 2006

    Posts: 58

    You play at games at work?! Slacker! Get back to work!
     
  10. Clown

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,087

    Location: London

    Are these Opterons better than X2 of about the same price? Say an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+ (Socket 939) for example
     
  11. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Well yes, but only when overclocked. They are exactly the same Cores and as a result, when at the same clock speed, will be exactly the same. Overclocking wise, they are slightly better but my recent X2 4400+ (Year 05 Week 46) is a good clocker as you can see in my sig and will probably beat any of the Week 51 05 opti's which are quite poor clockers. Don't forget, the X2 4400+ is 200mhz faster at stock than a 170 opti and 400mhz faster than a 165 :).
     
  12. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,690

    Location: London

    translation: ;)

    "From what I have read 2.6GHz doesn't seem impossible to reach, but as I haven't ever owned an Opteron I can't say for sure, however there are alot of users who have posted their results and I have read 100's of them, looks hopeful but you never know how stable these results are (not many people have run meaty stability tests or posted any screenshots!) or indeed how extreme the testing conditions are?. One guy who posted extremely good results has his computer in pieces, in a freezing cold room (10°C ambient brrrrr) the motherboard is sitting right next to an open window with a chilly draft blowing directly onto it, and the IHS has been removed from the CPU (mess up a IHS removal and you have a £300 medallion!). Not sure if these testing conditions are applicable to you as you may be one of those freaky types who likes to have all his components inside a *closed case* using quiet aircooling fans, and like to sit in a warm room!" :)

    more info here:

    *** Official Opteron 170 Ocing Thread ***
     
    Last edited: 10 Mar 2006
  13. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Lool - yeah that's about right.
     
  14. Clown

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,087

    Location: London

    Looks like I'm getting one of these Opteron things and a random motherboard, and a 7900GTX 512MB. Or something. Thanks. Are these locked in any way?
     
    Last edited: 10 Mar 2006
  15. Squidge

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,185

    Multiplier is locked upwards, but not downwards, so the 170 gives you upto 10x multy, whilst 165 only gives you upto 9x.
     
  16. Clown

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 5,087

    Location: London

    Thanks for your help. That Asus motherboard should be alright for overclocking? I don't really want to read through 20 pages to find out about all the problems people are having. I think I'm going to get the X1900XTX because it's 100 quid cheaper and the difference isn't that great.

    Sorry for hijacking your thread man.