1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This £650 pc build ok?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Humate, 29 May 2006.

  1. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    If i can replace any part for something that u think is better let me know. Its a PC for a friend, the odd game and mainly just surfing and work. I dont know anything about cases, that mobo will fit in it right?

    Case - £57.52
    Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Black Aluminium Midi-Tower Case (No PSU) (CA-054-LL)

    CPU, MOBO, RAM - £300
    Intel Pentium 4 640 "LGA775 Prescott" 3.2GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology - Retail (CP-093-IN) £135.07
    Abit AL8 Intel 945P (Socket 775) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-072-AB) £93.94
    Corsair 1GB DDR2 Value Select PC4200 Dual Channel Kit (2x512MB) (VS1GBKIT533D2) (MY-066-CS) £70.44

    Hard drive - £53.99
    Samsung SpinPoint P SP2504C 250GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-018-SA)

    Graphics card - £75
    Selling my friend my Sapphire x800 gto2 for 75 (i want an x1900xtx)

    Dvd writer - £25.79
    Pioneer DVR-111DBK 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter - (Black) OEM (CD-038-PO)

    PSU - £46.94
    Thermaltake PurePower TWV 430W ATX2.0 PSU (W0053) (CA-023-TT)

    Printer - £46.94
    Canon Pixma MP150 Multi-Function Printer/Scanner/Colour Copier (PR-047-CA)

    Printer cable £4.64
    Belkin Pro Series Hi-Speed USB 2.0 A-B Printer/Device Cable - 4.8m (F3U133ea16) (CB-119-BE)

    Network card
    Netgear WG311 54Mbps Wireless PCI Adapter (NW-011-NG) £30.49

    Total: £641.31
     
  2. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    you can get am2 chip board and 1gig maybe 2 gig of ram for £300
     
  3. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    yeh amd would be fine too, i will take a look, i dont really know what im looking at with amd tho. In fact i know sod all :p
     
  4. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    well i wouldnt go for the 1900 ill go for the 1800 because of dx10, wasting that cash and in 7 months or less these new cards will appear.
     
  5. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Getting a 1900 now is NOT a waste...

    When DX10 arrives your not going to suddently see a rake of games. Not only that but you assume that the games that do appear are going to be popular.. plus need Vista which is yet more outlay.

    DX10 will not be NEEDED till at least the end of 2007 and probably not till well into 2008 or beyond.

    Not only that but DX10 games WILL work on current hardware. Games developers will have to develop them with DX9 compatability because they know full well that most people will not shell out for Vista the instant it hits the shelves.
     
  6. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    plus 7 months is an eternity to wait :p
     
  7. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    plus look for the Nitro AX case they are good infact my system is 27c-30c cpu 24-26 c, this case lowered my heat and its very nice it big inside and the drive bays come out its cool :)
     
  8. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    As for the spec. Interesting mix, the presler isn't a bad system but HAS to be overclocked to get anything worthwhile out of it. Personally I'd go for a 939 or AM2 system with a 3800+ AMD processor. Perform as well as an overclocked ( I'm talking air here not water before people start quoting 4.1ghz+ - max on air is 3.6-3.8) Presler and you can overclock both the 939 amd AM2 3800+'s well ( bit of an assumption there, as far as I can tell the AM2 is pretty much a repackaged 939 with a DDR2 memory controller and thus OUGHT to clock well ).

    The PC7 is an AWSOME case, easilly the most popular in the price range and gives £100+ cases a run.
     
  9. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    have a look at the reviews for the Nitro AX case every ones giving it a 10/10 best case i brought.
     
  10. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    First review I found didn't and the PC7 is DEFINATLY better on the following reasons :-

    1) Lighter (the PC7 is something like 3kg if that not 25)
    2) MUCH better front 120mm fan mounting. The one on the Nitro AX is badly obstructed.
    3) two 120mm fans supplied.
    4) the AX is HUGE - full 50mm taller than the PC7.
     
    Last edited: 29 May 2006
  11. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    im more concerned about cpu ram memmory
     
  12. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Well your choice is all compatable and with that route a good choice.

    Personally if you can fit in budget though go 939 or AM2.
     
  13. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    http://www.atruereview.com/nitro_ax_case/index.php
    thats the 1st one i saw

    Pros:

    Looks
    Swiveling external port bay
    Removable hard drive cages
    Screwless expansion port installation
    Strong
    Cons:

    Only one low CFM fan included
    Heavy
    Residue left on paint after removing plastic
    Ratings:

    Esthetics: Excellent
    Features: Excellent
    Packaging: Good
    Cooling: Good
    Price: Good
    Overall: Very Good


    http://www.ocmodshop.com/default.aspx?a=328&p=891
     
  14. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    for me 2 gig is a must.
     
  15. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    does this come with a heatsink and fan: Intel Pentium 4 640 "LGA775 Prescott" 3.2GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology - Retail (CP-093-IN)

    working within 650 is tight... what about this for £292 (or is this worse than my original p4 choice):
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3700BNBOX) (CP-121-AM) £152.69
    Corsair 1GB DDR2 Value Select PC4200 Dual Channel Kit (2x512MB) (VS1GBKIT533D2) (MY-066-CS) £70.44
    Asus A8N-SLi SE nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-101-AS) £70.44
     
  16. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

  17. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    That's a 939 mobo which uses DDR1 ram you've put DDR2 in.

    Drop 2gig of DDR and that's a very nice system.

    Performance wise - for many things will be better. It's single core so if you multi task heavilly it'll lose out in some situations but for most things should be better.
     
  18. Humate

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Dec 2005

    Posts: 652

    aghh yeh, thanks for spotting that :p