1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Threaded Optimisation

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Cartho, 7 May 2007.

  1. Cartho

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Dec 2006

    Posts: 570

    Location: Hampshire

    I hear this can enhance performance in Nvidia cards if you have a dual core CPU

    However I cant see it in my control pannel. I am using the 93.71 drivers.
    I have a Geforce 6800, do you need a 7 series card for this?
     
  2. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    I think it's a setting that's not in the user's hands eg. Nvidia decided it always improves things so didn't have an option to turn it off. There may be Registry settings to turn it off.

    No idea how you could test it though. Perhaps run 3DMark, but set the affinity so that it doesn't run on both cores. That may affect the driver's use of the cores too. Have Task Manager open, and check out the activity of the cpus. One should be fully loaded, the other will have significant load.
     
  3. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,883

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    I think it's just for the 8xxx series actually. I know I have the option in the CP for it, I have it turned on. I did not notice it when I had my old 7800GTX. I don't know if perhaps the latest drivers along with a modded inf will allow the option to appear. :confused:
     
  4. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,029

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    im using a 7600GT and 93.71 drivers, the option is there

    i take it you have set it to 'use classic control panel', if so make sure on performance and quality settings the view is set to 'advanced settings'. its at the bottom of that list below negative LOD bias
     
  5. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    Where is it? I'll take a look. I've got Coolbits2 on, so all the hidden pages are there.

    Edit:
    Lol!
    Yeah, I got it. Set to Auto. Time for some experiments.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2007
  6. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,029

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    ive got it set to auto, although i dont see any performance increase with it on tbh
     
  7. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,740

    Location: South Coast


    Because Auto = On when a multi core cpu is detected :)
     
  8. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,029

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    worded that wrong :p
    i mean i dont see any increase with it set to off or auto/on
     
  9. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,740

    Location: South Coast


    GRRR ANOTHER THING NOT WORKING NVIDIA!!! :eek: :eek: :mad:
     
  10. Sir Random

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 2,636

    Location: Wicklow, Ireland

    I remember turning it on when I was using 97.92s, but it seems to be missing from the 165.01 drivers I'm using now.

    It's not like they claim it as a feature, it's just something that appeared in the cp.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2007
  11. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,773

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Seem to remember it makes about 5-10% difference over single cores for otherwise the same systems.

    Jokester
     
  12. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,029

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    ill try it now with the 160.03's, only on the css stress test though :)

    A64 X2 4400+ & 7600GT
    1280x1024 - All High 4xAA 16xAf
    Auto = 89.54fps
    Off = 89.16fps
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2007
  13. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    3Dmark06
    Off: 3727
    On: 3737

    I don't think that can be claimed as any sort of victory...
     
  14. Inazuma

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2006

    Posts: 4,227

    Location: Purgatory

    Rofl
    Ah it can't hurt to keep it on I guess
     
  15. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,883

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    10 points are you crazy. That's like +100fps in my games. :D ;)
     
  16. Darg

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Sep 2006

    Posts: 6,231

    Location: London

    I know atleast one game that goes belly up with this setting turned on with a dual core cpu. Of course that game is on an 8 year old engine soo... :p

    I keep mine off just in case :)
     
  17. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    Just out of interest, what game is it? (Guessing System Shock 2)