Tidal & MQA Question (Another One!)

Man of Honour
I have a Tidal subscription that allows me to access 'Master' content which I believe(?) is only delivered via the MQA format. However, in my main listening area I do not have an MQA enabled DAC (I do on my PC ironically), so it will not decode MQA. For streaming in this area I use a MacMini connected to the DAC (NAIM V1) via USB and then into my SuperNait2 Amp, but I have some questions for people who understand Tidal.

1: Does the OSX Tidal App actually decode MQA, so removing the need for the DAC to handle this and deliver it to the DAC without then needing to decode it? Does the MacMini mean I don't have to worry about decoding MQA as my MacMini does it before it arrives at the DAC meaning I am getting the FULL MQA experience (whatever that means)?

2: If this is not the case, am I correct in thinking that without MQA all I get when I select 'Master' is a normal HiFi (16bit/44mhz) streams, so in simple terms I am getting zero advantage from having Master?

Thanks in advance. Not only does Tidal have TERRIBLE apps, it also has TERRIBLE support. Nice sound mind.

Soldato
afaik tidal hi fi desktop app will deliver 24/96 w/o an mqa dac, I do on windows; if you are not seeing that have you tried manually selecting dacs sample rate ?

An MQA encoded file can be played back in four ways; with no decoding, software decoding, hardware decoding, and a combined software/hardware decode.

If you play back a 24-bit/192kHz MQA-encoded file using iTunes through a regular DAC (i.e. a non-MQA DAC), you will get a 24/48 file.

If you play back a 24-bit/192kHz MQA-encoded file through an MQA software decoder like Tidal HiFi, Audirvana, or (soon) Roon, and you are using a regular DAC (i.e. a non-MQA DAC), you will get a 24/96 file. A software decoder does not offer the ability to 'unfold' the original file to resolutions higher than 24/96 (or 24/88.2).