1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tight timings or high FSB for gaming?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Drex, 3 Feb 2006.

  1. Drex

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jul 2004

    Posts: 239

    Was just wondering what is best for gaming? Tight timings (like my 2048 OCZ platinum @ 2-3-2-5 1t) Or high FSB like the OCZ [email protected] mhz DDR as my current memory wont go above 212mhz (424 DDR) i was wondering if getting the fsb up to 500DDR with 3-4-3-8 timings would be faster/better for gaming than the 424DDR with 2-3-2-5 timings?

    My cpu runs happily at 2.8ghz (12x233) with this memory using a divider so id be running at 11x250 (or 11x255 as im sure the pc 4000 would go the extra 5 mhz) without the divider which im thinking would be better?

    Cheers
     
  2. man_from_uncle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,350

    Well the answer is not timings or frequency, it's a combination of both. Of the options you suggest the 212mhz with 2-3-2-5 timings will certainly be a bit quicker than 250mhz with 3-4-3-8, but you might find a better combination somewhere in the middle at CAS2.5. If you can get say 240-245 at 2.5-3-3-7 you might find that it's a bit quicker than either. You're a lucky man to have 2 decent sets of ram to play with.
     
  3. Drex

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jul 2004

    Posts: 239

    Thanks a lot for your reply m8 but i dont have 2 sets of ram i have the 2048 2-3-2-5 and was going to sell it to my mate who wants 2 upgrade to 2gb but he dont like 2 play liek me he just leaves stuff alone :) then i was gonna buy the pc 4000 .

    iv even tried 3-4-4-10 @ 220 with this and it just doesnt wanna know, most it will go is prob 214 at any timings iv added voltage to cpu ram and nf4 chipset but nothin works thats why i was lookin at some other memory, and from what u have said it seems the Mushkin PC4000 @ 3-3-2-8 is the best stuff on OcUK.

    Anyway cheers for ya time mate.
     
  4. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,347

  5. rxmac

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 648

    Location: Northants

    Have you tried upping the volts on the ram (only you never mentioed that) i would expect ocz to oc by more than 14mhz. You can run them upto 2.8v without invalidating the ocz warrenty.
     
  6. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,204

    Your current ram is very good - loosen the timings slightly and you're away.

    I see no point changing your ram it would be a waste of money.

    Like someone said above, check dfi street/post and i'm sure you'll be sorted within no time.

    The DFI boards are picky, especially with timings, but find the right setup, and you'll be flying.