1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tips for building my pectoral muscles?

Discussion in 'Sports Arena' started by Sem, 5 May 2006.

1. Sem

Mobster

Hi
    I've been training my pectoral muscles for the last 6-8 months
    and while my strength has increased significantly
    definition hasn't changed much at all

so maybe i'm doing something wrong
    my main exercises for this area are push ups, bench presses
    and using a pectoral machine (your arms starting outward then pushing them inwards)

anyone got any tips on how i can develop the corner section (near the armpits)
    and the upper section (around the shoulders) and the middle section

2. Defcon5

Soldato

Definition is from lack of body fat as far as im aware

3. red11

Sgarrista

Bodyfat and genetics are both factors in this. Do you know you bodyfat percentage? :)

4. Makaveli

Gangster

Incline Bench press or Incline Dumbell press.Id go for incline dumbells using proper form.

Also dips work ya chest real good.

5. Sem

Mobster

dont know my bodyfat % how can i find out?
    im sure its pretty low as im slim

thanks for the tip but do you have any pics of how this exercise is performed :o

6. red11

Sgarrista

7. A2Z

Sgarrista

DIPS

8. Morba

Caporegime

as mentioned, first you need to find out what your bf% is. get yourself to a gym and ask them to do some caliper measurements (the more measurements the more accurate), of if you have the cash, a floatation tank is more accurate.

the lower the bf% the better.

aswell as incline chest press, i would also offer dumbell flyes with good form (rather than a pec dec stack).
    also, if your looking for definition around the armpit, you will need to have good bicep/tricep and shoulders (front/side and rear), also to complete the look, lats, big lats!

9. The_Judge

Wise Guy

Leaning forward dips and Incline Bench.

10. NitrogenY3K

Mobster