1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

To Dual or Quad

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Eriedor, 15 Oct 2009.

  1. Eriedor

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,868

    Location: Reading

    Quick question, I use my comp mainly for games and high def video editing.

    Currently running a core 2 duo ~2.2ghz (can't actually remember the model num)

    It deffintely needs an upgrade as video editing performance is quite poor.

    Question is do I go for a high clocked dual core like http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-192-IN&groupid=701&catid=6&subcat=793

    Or a lower clocked quad such as

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-281-IN&groupid=701&catid=6&subcat=567
     
  2. dumdedum

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Sep 2009

    Posts: 12

    Location: Plymouth, United Kingdom

    Quad
     
  3. DavieJG

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Sep 2009

    Posts: 618

    Video editing is one of the places where you want as many cores as possible, go quad
     
  4. SkodaMart

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jul 2009

    Posts: 3,645

    Location: Manchester

    Dual, IMHO you get a better stutter free experience, with gaming. I am currently eyeing up the Wolfdales too!
     
  5. hyperst

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Dec 2008

    Posts: 4,019

    Location: Lincolnshire

    went from a dual to a quad and it made need for speed shift very playable now for me
     
  6. Ross1234

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2007

    Posts: 4,843

    Location: London

    Quad!
     
  7. BIGBC

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,668

    Location: Chester/Loughborough

    Quad, try and pick up a Q6600 (second hand maybe?) - great chips and will happily clock to the Duals speeds.
     
  8. PaulyD

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Mar 2008

    Posts: 4,635

    Location: High Wycombe

    :confused:
     
  9. coupe69

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Feb 2007

    Posts: 4,262

    Location: Staffs, UK.

    Yeah exactly what I was thinking Pauly, quad all the way mate.
     
  10. LeJosh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Sep 2008

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Edinburgh.

    Go for the quad mate. :)
     
  11. Th3D0n

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,839

    Location: Rochdale/whitworth

    quad !!!!!!
     
  12. Geckovich

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Nov 2008

    Posts: 2,256

    Location: Cambridge

    Please explain.

    I've been using a quad for over two years and have no idea what stutter you're talking about.
     
  13. SfnX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,134

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    everything work based is much better with quads and often quads beat dual cores in games 2
     
  14. gt_junkie

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 8,090

    Location: The Lakes

    Yeah i'd say quads these days too.

    There's better support for them in games now. Duals are good but if your video editing too it's the best of both worlds.

    TBH, depending on your mobo, you could probably push that quad to 3ghz fairly easily if needed.

    gt
     
  15. sturmtruppe

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Feb 2009

    Posts: 571

    Location: Hinckley

    Tbh clock speed isnt the 'Main thing' anymore when it comes to processors.

    If you can afford the extra £15 go for the q9400, the larger cache makes a considerable difference.

    Otherwise go with the 8400.
     
  16. gurusan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Sep 2006

    Posts: 13,489

    Location: Portland, OR

    quad without a doubt. this is coming from a dual-core nut
     
  17. Mrjobby

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Jun 2008

    Posts: 633

    Quad for what you want deffo.

    Games a high end wolf would be just as good.
     
  18. ReturnOfTheDude

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Sep 2009

    Posts: 82

    Quad for sure :)
     
  19. Admiral Huddy

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2003

    Posts: 29,549

    Location: Chelmsford & Broadgate

    Strange... not had any stuttering with my Q6600?
     
  20. Stonedofmoo

    Soldato

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,245

    Location: Portsmouth

    What nonsense. Get an i5/i7 it has all the advantages of both.