1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tonights Moon

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Fireblade2K4, 2 Jun 2006.

  1. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    Seeing as I now have my tripod I thought I would try it out with a few photos of the moon, this is my first attempt at a moon picture EVER and with my Canon S3 IS, I'm very impressed indeed :D

    C+C Welcome

    [​IMG]

    Stu
     
  2. SDK^

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 19,150

    The sky shows a lot of swirl marks - have you used the clone tool on it ?
     
  3. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    No, I've not used a clone tool on it, I've had it in PS and run it through a noise filter, clarified it a bit and also adjusted the contrast and brightness then sharpened it a little....I dont see the swirls on my TFT unless my brightness is turned up a bit more.

    This was taken before dark, that probably explains the noise I had, I'll try another shortly when it is pitch black.

    Stu
     
  4. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    This is the same shot edited slightly different.

    [​IMG]

    Stu
     
  5. mctiny

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: cidade maravilhosa

    wow is all I can say right now.

    I have a canon S2 Is and never had a moon photo like that "yet", aso OT here but what tripod have you got ?
     
  6. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    Tripod is only a cheap £12.99 one from a competitor I'm affraid buy im sure you'll find them if you google for some.

    Stu
     
  7. mctiny

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: cidade maravilhosa

    no worries, I was thinking you may have complemented the camera with a Pro set of legs, I'm looking at the Manfrotto 190 pro at the moment. :D
     
  8. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    As long as they hold the camera steady, have adjustments so you can change the shot from landscape to portrait, adjustable neck and legs you'll be fine....don't see the point in paying over the odds for them.

    The one I have retails at a popular camera retailer for over £49.99 so im £££'s in :D

    Stu
     
  9. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    How this?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    Thats a good attempt, what camera was it with?

    Stu
     
  11. KizZ

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,235

    Location: Lincoln

    Lol, its your pic but photoshopped :p

    Heres the same one sharpened: :)

    [​IMG]

    Im doing this because of boredom :o
     
  12. Fireblade2K4

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,690

    Location: West Midlands

    Lol....thought it looked a lot like mine, lol.....I must be tired, oh well... :p

    Stu
     
  13. themask70

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Saffron Walden, Essex

    Lol, nice ones :)
     
  14. Overlag

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 11,033

    Location: Romford/Hornchurch, Essex

    i had a try with tonights moon....

    shots look good..... untill u go 100% and then they look rubbish!!


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    almost no editing on them ones there...i tried some editing but made them worse :p