TP-Link Archer C50 AC1200, any good?

Associate
Is this router good for a budget router? I have a Virgin hub 3, which can be set to modem mode, and connect a better router. I want to get a VPN, which I believe the Virgin hub is incompatible with. I'm not needing anything fancy, and a budget limit of approximately £50. I just need something basic and simple which functions well. I've only got 3 wireless devices in a small house (so signal strength does not need to be special), rarely on at the same time, and my hardwired PC. The above I see for £35, and it has a lot of positive reviews, but there may be a better one within budget. I'm a router noob, but I know how to access settings in case any setup is needed, but nothing 'too' technical.

Soldato
'get a VPN'?

Running the VPN client on the router isn't a good idea unless you can be selective about what gets routed via the VPN. I very much doubt that the C50, or any other router in a similar price bracket, would allow for that. If probably hasn't got the processing power to run a VPN connection as a decent speed either.

If you run the VPN client on the individual devices you should be fine with the Virgin Hub.

I'd be prepared to at least double your budget or not bother with a third-party router at all.

Associate
OP
By get a VPN, I merely meant subscribing to a service such as Nordvpn, not installing anything on the router. From experience in the past, and some research, I believe the Virgin hub 3 is set so you can't use a vpn service with it. It's blocked in router settings, as far as I've read.

Surely there's no need to spend £100 for a basic but decent router, I'd be surprised and disappointed if that was the case.

Soldato
According to Google there's an option on the Hub 3 that allows VPN traffic through.

Advanced Settings -> Firewall -> Block fragmented IP packets (disable it).

Easy enough to check for yourself.