1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring Windows 7 Prod key

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by randomshenans, 7 Jun 2010.

  1. randomshenans

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2009

    Posts: 12,541

    Location: France, Alsace

    Right, I was given a full lisence of Win 7 Ultimate on a course I was on, which I loaded on to an old laptop while I was there and reg'd it etc. Now I would like to use ubuntu on the laptop instead as it's not very powerful, but would like to transfer the prod key to my desktop PC, which is running a non gen version.

    What would be the best way to go about doing this?

    Thankies!
     
  2. OCdude

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2008

    Posts: 2,705

    Location: Norway

    I think you can do it if it's a full retail version (not OEM).

    So i'd say......... you most likely aren't going to be able to!

    I'm sure someone else here who's skilled in the dark arts of MS licensing could clarify!
     
  3. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Hi, If it is Retail, then you can transfer it 3 times. But, if it is Student Version, ie cheap version, then you can transfer it 2 times. After that you will have to phone Microsoft.
     
  4. randomshenans

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2009

    Posts: 12,541

    Location: France, Alsace

    It's a full version, not upgrade as I had the full disk bla bla bla so how would I go about transfering it? Never done it before on an OS, so could be simple, I just don't know!

    Sorry if it's a ridiculous question.
     
  5. thepeganator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Sep 2008

    Posts: 2,486

    Location: Portsmouth/Salisbury

    Retail you can transfer as many times as you like.

    Right click on my computer>properties>at the bottom>change product key.

    Or if on a lesser edition then control panel>anytime upgrade.
     
  6. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    It may well be a full version, but is it OEM or Retail?

    If OEM you cannot legally install it elsewhere as it is tied to the laptop's motherboard.

    However, on the assumption it is Retail, then do as peganator says above.
     
  7. randomshenans

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2009

    Posts: 12,541

    Location: France, Alsace

    Ah then you may well be right it might be OEM, I'm not 100% on that. I've tried the above, but it says that the key has already been used.

    Would calling MS actually help?
     
  8. OCdude

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2008

    Posts: 2,705

    Location: Norway

    Yes, they'll be able to tell you what kind of license you have.