1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tri-Channel in X48 dual channel ?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by neil473, 30 Sep 2009.

  1. neil473

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jan 2008

    Posts: 1,077

    I'm looking to swap memory from the OCZ platinum 12800 2 x 2gig i have in my Asus P5E3 premium X48 . I cant get it to O/C with my Q6600 for love nor money and i have seen many posts from people having problems with OCZ in this board.

    I'll probably upgrade to I7 after Xmas, so could i buy a Tri Channel kit now and not use one of the Chips and it work fine in dual channel mode , or are these kits very specific to X58 etc.

    i.e. something like
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-168-CS&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=1389
     
  2. lukext

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Aug 2006

    Posts: 966

    Location: North West

    My guess would be yes. 99.9% sure it would work but wait for others to confirm! so long as your current board supports DDR3.
     
  3. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 27,499

    Location: Rutland

    It'd work fine :)
     
  4. MrMuz

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Aug 2009

    Posts: 39

  5. neil473

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jan 2008

    Posts: 1,077

    thanks Gents
     
  6. D D Danneh

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Feb 2009

    Posts: 3,467

    Location: Sheffield

    Should work fine.