Tv aerial

Soldato
What do I need to look for when buying a tv aerial?

I live in a bungalow surrounded by normal houses so need a pretty strong aerial.

My nearest transmitter is in crystal palace and there are no houses directly in the way.

What do I need to get to have decent reception? I don't have an aerial at the moment as it is a new build

ALD

ALD

Associate
From here.

To receive Freeview from the Crystal Palace transmitter you will require an aerial of group A positioned horizontally.

Man of Honour
I install aerials as part of what I do for a living. When left to their own devices most DIY'ers go way OTT on the aerial.

I see people buying these huge "ultra high gain" tinfoil rigs and then fix them on the smallest bracket. The aerial acts like a huge sail which puts loads of stress on the bracket. The result is either the bracket works loose if fixed to the wooden soffit, or it can rock and damage the pointing. The other problem with over spec'ing the aerial gain is signal overload. Crystal Palace is the countries most powerful transmitter. It would be unusual to require a very high gain aerial if living within the M25 with a clear line of sight to the transmitter.

The "tin foil" bit is important too. Most big "value" aerials are made of bits of flat aluminium sheeting bent to give them a bit of strength. The aerials are held together with small self-tapping screws. Weathering loosens these joints, and fat pigeons love a new perch, so within a year or two the aerial looks shabby and looses performance. Before too long the thing is useless.

Good aerials are made from solid aluminium rods. The difference in price is less than the cost of replacing a tin foil aerial prematurely; not to mention no hassles with transmission breakup.