1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unbelievable frustrating problem need ideas

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by boner, 21 May 2006.

  1. boner

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 165

    Location: Preston

    After messing with PC's for many years I have come up against a problem I simply cant solve.

    Started with random reboots. When it didn't reboot the mouse froze on the windows login screen. Tried a PS2 mouse and the reboots and mouse feezes remained. Upon reboot windows reported a GPU driver eror. Since then I have formatted, tried 2 USB and 1 PS2 mouse, new motherboard, tried the onboard GFX and a PCIe X800, tried a new PSU, new HDD. The only stuff I havn't tried is memory and CPU although the memory passes memtest+ 100% forever. This kinda leaves the CPU but the symptoms are not CPU related, in fact they tend not to boot if the CPU is faulty. One thing I did notice is a USB windows STOP error during setup but I restarted setup and windows loaded. Still the same problems, mouse freezes, reboots etc. So at this point I am lost. Totally baffled and ready to chuck the lot through the widow. Before I do does anyone have any suggestions? Help or ideas greatly appreciated.
     
  2. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    To completely rule out the CPU you really need to try another, or try yours in someone elses system. Once you have ruled it out then you have to consider the possibility that TWO pieces of hardware are causing conflicts.

    SiriusB
     
  3. encephalopathy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,175

    Location: N Ireland

    freudian slip i hope ;)

    only other thing i would suggest is trying it with only 1 stick of memory at a time,trying different slots, and try rebuilding it again from scratch outside of the case.
     
  4. kmistry

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,089

    Location: Leicester

    I've been having random reboots on my dinosaur system as well, and found that it was an airflow problem causing the system to overheat (CPU and System). I took off my side panel and now all seems to be going well.....

    What are your system and CPU temperatures? This is just a suggestion but check it out :)
     
  5. boner

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 165

    Location: Preston

    Temps are fine and the system has been rock solid for over a year.
    I always presumed memtest would pick up on any memory errors but it has to be CPU or Memory related. I will concentrate on those 2 for the time being.
    I am sure most enthusiasts have been in this position at some time or other and its great that forums like these, even if the problem isn't solved, makes you feel so much better. A problem shared etc :)
     
  6. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    No... its still your problem. We get to forget about it after we click the Back button :D

    SiriusB
     
  7. The $6m Dan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Dec 2002

    Posts: 2,385

    Location: Sheffield

    How far through the windows install did you get before the problems started up again?
    Perhaps a windows update or driver is causing a conflict of some kind.
    You could try some older motherboard drivers, reinstall Direct X, and uninstall the windows updates.
     
  8. pcoltrane

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Sep 2005

    Posts: 945

    what motherboard are you running?
     
  9. El_Watcher

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,963

    Location: Herts, UK

    An exact spec of all your parts would be useful, so we can rule out known conflicts.
     
  10. G.O.A.T

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Mar 2005

    Posts: 368

    Location: Birmingham

    Have you eliminated the PSU?
     
  11. boner

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 165

    Location: Preston

    Spec is:

    Asus P5GD1-VM............Tried 2 motherboars
    AOPEN case and PSU......Tried new PSU
    2x512mb Corsair Value Select DDR1....currently swapping about
    P4 3Ghz 530J I think.....not touched but running cool
    Ati X800 and onboard 915G GFX...tried them both
    XP SP2

    The error when installing windows was right after copying the files across,first reboot I get a blue screen and a USBxxxxx something error. Bearing in mind this has happened on both boards? I now have windows running and am swapping ram about but neither USB mice will work. Very strange. Running a PS2 I know the next error will be when I install either GFX driver.
     
  12. luminous

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 394

    Location: Edinburgh

    Try a vanilla ps2 mouse/keyboard first with usb disabled in bios.
    Have you got one of those 2/4 port usb modules that came with mobo connected? (this could be your dodgy part),you could try the mobos ports first.
    If you get another bsod error with stop..write it down and have a swatch here
    http://www.aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php
    Hope its not the cpu,have you had sp2 running well before on the original setup?
     
  13. flying grouse

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2003

    Posts: 490

    Location: Aberdeen

    You don't mention HDD, if you are using sata drives, remember to install correct sata driver when installing windows..............
     
  14. boner

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jan 2003

    Posts: 165

    Location: Preston

    No USB modules running, just the standard ports on the back of the mobo.
    SP2 was running great before.
    With regards the HDD, as the chipset supports SATA I didn't think I needed drivers? Either way it was working for 12 months as it was.
    Many thanks for the suggestions :)
     
  15. flying grouse

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2003

    Posts: 490

    Location: Aberdeen

    The reason I mentioned sata/promise driver, is that the problem you are having is exactly the same problem I had with an asus board, the mouse freezing when I tried to install windows XP.................
     
  16. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    Have you tried a full reformat of the drive? could be a corrupt file system.