Underperforming GPU?

Associate
Hi All,
I am very new to the whole PC spec thing but decided to build my own PC dedicated to editing 4k footage as my laptop was not cutting it.
I looked at the specs required for the software I am using (Davinci Resolve 17) here before buying:
https://www.newsshooter.com/2020/11/13/blackmagic-design-davinci-resolve-17-1-released/

Being an "in for a penny, in for a pound" kind of person I decided to go for the higher-spec in pretty much every area, I was super excited as I did a lot of research but honestly, since putting it together all enthusiasm I had has almost gone. I have had multiple issues for weeks that are making me wonder if my GPU (or overall spec) is either faulty or not powerful enough. Many of these issues were resolved by uninstalling and reinstalling the GPU drivers but the overall performance still seems questionable for the amount of power I have.
When running Davinci I frequently experience stuttering, often freezing and I get very little smooth use out of it. I expected the spec I have to deal with the software far more efficiently - maybe a few stutters when dealing with long timelines of 4k footage and visual effects but not simply after starting the program and having maybe 4 minutes of footage with no visual effects. I am starting to think that there must be something wrong with my GPU - which is the worst part to have issues with at the moment with such short supply!
My spec is:

GPU - Radeon RX 580 series - 8GB VRAM, 2000MHz
CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8-Core Processor
RAM - 64GB Corsair DDR4

I also occasionally still see the brightness of the screen flicker when playing the witcher 3 (it seems to only happen in dark scenes) and overall performance on things like browsers can be slow too. I am not an avid gamer but I think there are occasional stutters/frame rate issues with the witcher too.