• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Understanding the Economics of 6 vs. 8 CPU cores | Newbie to Gaming Industry

Associate
I don't want to go down the rabbit hole "if 6 cores is going or not going to be enough for the next 2 or 3 years". What I would like to know, since I am new to gaming industry is the financial status of it (and if I ****** it up with new PC). I personally went with 6 cores 12 threads - a good value for a medium range CPU and used extra money on better PSU (it could have been better case or cooling or even better GPU). I think case, PSU and cooling is the only thing you "could future proof", but moving on - not the point of topic.

1. Okay, if I assume that all people that say 6 is not enough after 2 years are right and that I will need to upgrade in 2 years, does the economical or financial sheet looks like this?
2020      →       2022            →       2024
170$ mid-end      170$ mid-end                170$ mid-end

I am assuming a top of the mid end CPU would cost around 170$ and would give performance for the next 2 years at least. In total over the 4 year period, 510 dollars.

1. Okay, if theoretically I did went with 8 cores, would economical or financial sheet look like this?

2020      →       2022            →       2024
340$ high-end      no upgrade (future-proof)         340$ high-end

I am assuming a top of the line high end CPU would hold itself for at least 4 years (i.e. future proofing). In total over the 4 year period, 680 dollars. Also, I assumed the price would be double, since today a 8 core CPU costs double the amount of money as 6 cores.