1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unitinfo.txt

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by RobOC, 28 Jul 2006.

  1. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    Anyone know if there is a standard time for how often unitinfo.txt is updated, or whether it is down to individual cores? Seems pretty random. Anyone know of a way to make it update more often?
     
  2. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 10,916

    Location: London

    I always thought it was updated at the end of every frame/percent of the WU?
     
  3. iBot

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,309

    Location: England

    Me too.

    Code:
    Current Work Unit
    -----------------
    Name: p1478_tet_1478
    Download time: July 26 07:04:34
    Due time: September 16 07:04:34
    Progress: 98%  [|||||||||_]
    
     
  4. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    Oh ok so if I am on a long WU it could take a while between updates.
     
  5. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    For the cores that deal in percentages, it is every percent. With the cores that deal in frames, it is however many frames make up a percent before an update is made.

    ^ Not very clear :(
     
  6. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    It might seem a random question. The reason i ask is because on my stats page (link at the bottom) I am putting all the threads I am running, and I detect if they are down by the create time on the unitinfo.txt. But I keep getting them displaying as 'down' because I am using an hour as the stale data time before setting them as down. Apparently some unitinfo.txt updates take longer than an hour. I'll have to think of a better way to detect the process status. Means actually doing something proper though :p
     
  7. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    At present one of the unitinfo.txt's hasn't updated since 22:45 and it is 00:09... so some cores must take quite some time per %/frame.
     
  8. shadowscotland

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 31 May 2006

    Posts: 7,560

    Location: West London

    some of the 4-500pointer can take 90-120minutes on my HT P4 3.0 rigs. and your sig link says some of your threads will take weeks to finish - so yes
     
    Last edited: 29 Jul 2006
  9. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    Hmm those 600pt units should only take a max of a couple of days on those rigs. The reasoning behind that page is that one of those machines was remotely restarted a couple of days ago and the processes didn't start up again properly and I didn't notice. A good couple of days lost crunching. That might be why it looks like they'll take ages to finish, they've been down for a while :rolleyes:
     
  10. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 10,916

    Location: London

    You could possibly use the modified time on the FAHLog.txt instead? Even if the frame is taking a long time, that file will update at least every 30 minutes when FAH writes checkpoint files, if FAH is running.
     
  11. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    Ahhh I like your style. Good idea :D

    I was just getting into doing px aux | greps to see if the process is running etc. I'll give that a go.
     
  12. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    That worked a treat. FAHlog is a bit bigger to upload but not by much. Good stuff, it'll do for my purposes. :) ta!
     
  13. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    FAHlog will continue to grow as long until the client is restarted - when the client is restarted it checks the size of the log file and if it's over 50K it will save the information in FAHlog-prev and start fresh

    Currently one of my X2's clients has a 150KB log file and the other has a 110KB logfile - that's after about a week of uptime

    hope this helps :)
     
  14. RobOC

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Nov 2004

    Posts: 522

    Hey, yeah that's useful thanks. Might add some kind of service bouncing to the scripts which SCP the files in, to maintain the log file sizes.