1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

unknown devices need installing! HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by dubs, 28 Jul 2006.

  1. dubs

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 757

    Location: Buckley, North Wales.

    ok decided to do a fresh install this morning of my main drive

    have installed everything i can think of drivers for sound and graphics etc...

    but im left with these
    CLICKY!!
    everytime i reboot saying they need installing and cant fro the life of me figure out what the hell they are the unknown device is apparently mounted on my X800Xt?? as for the other i havent a clue!

    Help anyone please!!!
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2006
  2. Arsey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,498

    Location: Wimbledon

    can you get a bigger picture?
     
  3. dubs

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 757

    Location: Buckley, North Wales.

  4. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Have you installed your motherboard drivers?? Looks like it may be the chipset drivers....

    Also if your GFx is VIVO then that has additional drivers - although they should have installed if you used a full ATI driver pack...

    M
     
  5. dubs

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 757

    Location: Buckley, North Wales.

    ok put the mother board driver cd in, installed realtek drivers which removed the

    Multimedia Audio Controller so tahts one down


    as fo the graphics i downloaded the newest driver for it cant remember if its VIVO or not, though im assuming that once the drivers are installed hen it will detect if vivo is enabled or not?!
     
  6. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Yeah, should do. Installing the ATI drivers should put all the drivers onto your PC, then it recognises it needs them and finds the ones you installed...

    What else is left??

    Other PCI Bridge device and SMBUS Controller both still look like mobo chipset devices to me...

    The unknown device could be something you have plugged in on USB, or perhaps something in a PCI slot??

    M
     
    Last edited: 28 Jul 2006
  7. dubs

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 757

    Location: Buckley, North Wales.

    the motherboard CD has a one step install feature to install all required drivers, none left to install according to that! so im stumped
     
  8. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,869

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

  9. dubs

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 757

    Location: Buckley, North Wales.

    Hmmmmm well ive run that program and it says there both Nvidia/MSI chipsets/devices, but i have no more drivers for them :mad:
     
  10. theredguy

    Banned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,195

    Location: Forest of Dean

    Have you tried windows update yet as that sometimes gives you drivers for odd's n sod's that are not installed yet.
     
  11. Gandalf501

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Aug 2004

    Posts: 363

    Location: Manchester

    Right click on the unkown devices.
    Update drivers.
    Search automatically.

    I had the odd occasion when my mobo chipset drivers said the were installed, but werent. This forces windows to find the required drivers and install them.

    Oh, and the devices are certainly part of your motherboard chipset.
     
  12. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    The one step install doesn't always work.

    Install the drivers individually.

    If necessary put the driver CD in, then right-click each of thre devices in device manager, update driver, and choose the path to the driver on the CD.

    That will do it.

    M
     
  13. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 26,638

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    Looks like nForce4 chipset drivers to me.
     
  14. subzero

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Dec 2003

    Posts: 854

    how i got rid of a similar problem,uninstalled the device, your graphics card,restarted pc and let it be identified then reinstalled device and the yellow exclamation marks dissappeared.

    This happened to me on this spare pc that i have not used in a while,installed service pack2 and was met with a load of yellow exclamation marks on my graphics drivers.
     
    Last edited: 29 Jul 2006
  15. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Any chance of having this bit in English?? ;)

    M
     
  16. subzero

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Dec 2003

    Posts: 854

    Sorry if you cant understand my English,it is not my first language and sometimes i do have some difficulty in making my self understood.
     
  17. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Then you do very well. I'm hopeless with other languages.

    Hope i haven't offended... Twas supposed to be humourous... :o

    M
     
  18. img

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 631

    looks like he suggested. install driver. remove device, restart pc and let it detect the device.

    SMBUS will be your motherboard chipset driver. what board do you have?

    have you tried double clicking on the items and click the update driver button and going through automatic detection and seeing if it picks it up and installs it
     
  19. subzero

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Dec 2003

    Posts: 854

    Not at all,it is a known problem i have sometimes.

    What drivers show up in your hardware properties for your graphics card,when i had this problem the system kept loading standard drivers for windows and it had disabled my AGP.
     
    Last edited: 29 Jul 2006
  20. ns400r

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Apr 2004

    Posts: 3,580

    Location: UK, Near the middle......

    Look on the ATI site for WDM drivers for the VIVO part of your video card.