Unusable RAM issue

Associate
I currently have 24gb HyperX Fury Red Series 1866Mhz DDR3 ram.
  • x2 4gb sticks
  • x2 8gb sticks
I am studying Computer Games Development so I work with Unreal Engine and 3D software a lot, reason why I have the 24gb before anybody says its overkill haha.

My computer boots with the x2 4gb sticks installed but if I throw the other x2 8gb sticks in I get no post or bios.

I managed to mess around and get it to show 15.9gb usuable out of the 24gb about 2 days ago, but now it will only recognise 8gb installed. At that time Windows was showing 24gb installed but only 15.9gb usable, but in bios it was showing that only 8gb was instaleld. Very confusing.

I have tried disabling maximum memory in msconfig but no luck, also tried switching ram config around a few times and still wont recognise.

My specs are in my signature below.

Any help would be appreciated.

Associate
OP
Is the memory compatible with your motherboard and can your motherboard take more than 16gb RAM ?
My mobo (ASUS 970 Pro Gaming/Aura) can support upto 4 x DIMM, Max. 32GB, DDR3 2133(O.C.)/1866/1600/1333/1066 MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory.

And I am pretty sure it is compatible with the mobo.

Soldato
what slots are you putting them in?

I had mine alternating as i would expect for dual channel but would not work....mixed speeds didnt help either

out of desperation i put the 2 slow stick of 2x4gb in 1st 2 slots then the 8gb stick in next two slots ...and it worked...and dual channel too...which confused me...

Different mb but worth a shot :)

Associate
First thing to question is if you have a bad stick. It's worth running memtest to make sure you don't have a rogue stick of bad RAM. If it isn't even POSTing, that suggests that something is wrong with the RAM.

Try booting with just the 2x8GB kit installed. If it POSTs, then it's possibly a conflict between the 2 kits.