1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade Graphics Card or whole system?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Captain_not_Captain, 17 Apr 2010.

  1. Captain_not_Captain

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Mar 2009

    Posts: 8

    As things were tight at Christmas time I ended up building my 7 year old a PC from components I had squirrel'd away over the years (i'm a horder :rolleyes: )

    The main spec's were, if I remember correctly:
    AMD A64 3700 San Diego
    an SLi capable Foxconn 939 motherboard
    a reasonable 500w Modular PSU
    and an old Radeon 800GTO graphics card.

    Its playing all his basic games like all the LEGO series and stuff like that but he's getting more into his gaming so I got him Batman AA. Unfortunately it comes up saying the CPU isn't fast enough and the graphics card doesn't support the right shader model. My fault for not checking!!

    Question is, if I OC the CPU up a bit closer to the 3ghz it says it needs (I know it won't reach that though) and say, bought an ATi 5770, does anybody reckon this would run some of these newer games or am I looking at upgrading the lot.
     
  2. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    The 5770 will be massively bottlenecked by the CPU.

    It would be cheaper to get a XFX4850 £80, but even that will be held back by your CPU.

    That CPU is a single core isn't it? How much ram?

    Realistically, I don't think it will play batman in its current form, needs either a major overhaul, or more realistic games it can cope with.
     
  3. Captain_not_Captain

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Mar 2009

    Posts: 8

    Yep, its just a single core with 2gb RAM.
    I was hoping that I'd get away with just upgrading the GPU but realistically thought it would need a major upgrade. Was just looking for other opinions, so cheers for the reply.
     
  4. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    Hi, what about something like this?...im not sure if the motherboard will take the cpu?i tried to check, but for the same price of a top end 5770 you could get a new cpu and gpu to be able to atleast run the game, i overclocked my x2 240 to 3.5Ghz on stock cooling etc.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    i have an x2 240 at 3.5ghz and a gt220 with 2gb memory and i run lfd2 etc maxed out.
     
  6. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Did you bother reading the first post?

    How's that CPU going to fit in a socket939 motherboard?
     
  7. Captain_not_Captain

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Mar 2009

    Posts: 8

    Unfortunately the motherboard is an old socket 939 so no luck there.

    Would need to be a motherboard, cpu, ram and gpu.:( But cheers though.
     
  8. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    thats what i tried to check, as i said i didnt find out, cheers babe
     
  9. cmndr_andi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2009

    Posts: 12,040

    Location: Cheshire

    Nice idea, but unfortunately he has a s939 board - which is incompatible with AM2(+) and AM3 processors.

    To provide a meaningful boost to CPU power, the OP will need to do a full system upgrade. However, the OP should have a look at the selling prices of his motherboard, CPU and RAM on a popular auction site. You will be surprised at the prices - it certainly makes a full system upgrade seem much easier to afford.
     
  10. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    its a shame theres no market place we can use right away, im going to be selling my mobo,ram,cpu and gpu together to start my new amd build soon.
     
  11. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Getting a 4850, is a better move, even with the bottleneck.

    It might not just be a 3.0ghz speed that the game needs, newer cpus have increased instruction sets(sse2,sse3) so even if you got the CPU upto the required speed, it still might not pass the games specification test.
     
  12. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    the xfx 4850 was on sale last week, like £66 i think or around that, it was a bargain.
     
  13. Captain_not_Captain

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Mar 2009

    Posts: 8

    Can you seriously get anything for this old stuff? :eek:

    I reckon I will have to look at some of the AMD set ups. All things considered, they seem to be fairly well priced for what you get.
     
  14. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    i built my amd system for just under £200, well the components you will need, not the case, psu etc.
     
  15. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    If it was a socket939 dual core athlon, they get silly money on fleebay.

    Not sure about a single core.

    Just try games in the power range of the computer.

    And start saving for a re-build.
     
  16. cmndr_andi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2009

    Posts: 12,040

    Location: Cheshire

    You really would be surprised :)

    Seriously, head to "a popular auction site" *wink, wink* and type in "939 sli".

    Also, DDR1 RAM goes for hilarious prices. Search for "ddr1 2GB" or similar and have a look.

    Then spend all the money you make on a new AM3 system on OCUK - everyone wins :D
     
  17. danewesley

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,296

    Location: Merseyside

    what about something like this?

    [​IMG]
     
  18. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    P.s batmans a bit much for a seven year old, some twisted stuff in it, and bad language if I remember.
     
  19. cmndr_andi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2009

    Posts: 12,040

    Location: Cheshire

    Here is a spec that won't break the bank - if you sell those s939 bits:

    [​IMG]

    + either a 4850 for £81 or a 5770 for £136 - depending on how much you want to spend.

    Also, that motherboard can do CrossfireX (the 2nd slot is PCIe v2.0 4x speed - which should be fine for either 4850 or 5770 in crossfire) which is nice to have for in the future.
     
  20. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Buy a console.

    Cheaper, games will work, easier.