1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Upgrade..

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Frippy, 29 Jul 2006.

  1. Frippy

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Jan 2006

    Posts: 296

    Hello,

    Currently I have a 3000+ A64 running at 3500 speeds 2.2 gig. An Audigy 2 Zs and a 7600GT. Was thinking of getting the X1800XT, XFI OEM and the 3700+ cpu. Is that a good upgrade? or am I better off sticking to what I have and doing a more substantial upgrade later on?

    Cheers folks!
     
  2. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Sounds good. The 3700+ SD should allow for a good overclock too. It also has double the L2 cache.
    The X1800XT is twice the performance of your current card & awesome value currently.
     
  3. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Get the OEM 4000+ and a decent cooler, then push it to FX57 speeds.
     
  4. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,618

    Given the prices on offer at the moment - all of those bits are a steal and will make a massive difference to your games - make sure you bench before and afterwards so you can see your cash in action!
     
  5. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,899

    Location: In a house

    Id just get the x1800 XT if your already running at 3500+ speeds, got a 3500+ and x1800 XT here, obliterates everything thrown at it, and a 3700+ would probably give you about 2 frames extra if that, when i first went A64 i was going to get the FX57, but then when i saw the 3800+ was only about 10 or less frames slower in games i didnt bother, so was going to save all that cash on the 3800+, but then i saw the 3800+ was less than 5fps faster than the 3500+ so i just got that, then i clocked it to a 3800+ but returned it back to stock as the differance was bugger all, i couldn't see any diff. :)
     
  6. Frippy

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 31 Jan 2006

    Posts: 296

    Cheers folks, yep that makes alot of sense Loadsamoney.
     
  7. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 3,618

    There is truth in that - but the San Diego's are very nice chips, and if he's lucky he could get a great clocker! (bearing in mind you can sell off your old 3000+ you'd only be paying £20-30 for a 3700 SD £65 in this week only ;) - well worth it for a bit of future proofing!)