1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Upgrading from AMD Athlon 64 3000+

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Voy06, 25 May 2006.

  1. Voy06

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 740

    Location: Liverpool

    Hi folks, looking to upgrade from the above processor to maybe a 3700 or 3800+ processor but there are some issues I am not sure about for example:

    1) Is this possible
    2) Will any other components have to be upgraded as well such as power unit/ motherboard etc.

    System spec: above processor, 149gb hard disk, Nvidia agp 6600gt, 1gb ram (soon to be 2gb ram), motherboard is a MSI MS-6702.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. sativa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Jan 2004

    Posts: 1,389

    Location: UK

    Your motherboard and cpu are socket 754 - so you will also need to buy a socket 939 mobo for a 3700/3800 processor.

    Make sure you also buy a AGP 939 board, otherwise if you buy a PCI 939 board, you will need to upgrade the graphics card too.
     
  3. Rokusho

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 May 2005

    Posts: 302

    Location: In my chair

    Granted you'll have to change mobo, you might aswell go for AM2 socket since your upgrading
     
  4. Voy06

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 740

    Location: Liverpool

    Thanks guys
     
  5. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,884

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    For once i agree. :eek:

    With your rig there is no point in sticking with 754, you may as well go to AM2 or wait a bit to see how Conroe really performs when it is released soon. The 6600 GT is also "long in the tooth" now so it would be a good time to switch to Pci-e as well. That does mean a whole new rig though.
     
  6. Voy06

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 740

    Location: Liverpool

    Fao pastymuncher

    Sorry what's Conroe?
     
  7. hp7909

    Soldato

    Joined: 8 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,016

    Intel Core 2 :D
     
  8. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    Conroe is Intel's upcoming AMD beater, from benchmarks on xtremesystems, it doesn't just beat the top end AMD CPU, it's pwns it by an average of 20%. It's also gonna be about £400 cheaper than AMD's top end CPU aswell!
     
  9. Voy06

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 740

    Location: Liverpool

    Seems a good step forward. Thanks for the description.
     
  10. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,884

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland