1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading to a x1800 512

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Sticklyman, 2 Jun 2006.

  1. Sticklyman

    Associate

    Joined: 31 May 2006

    Posts: 42

    Location: Swansea

    Hi! I will soon (within the next few weeks) be upgrading from a 6600GT 128mb to a x1800XT 512mb. I currently have a 400w PSU (Codegen 300x) and its powering:

    Asus K8N4-E motherboard
    1.5 GB Ram
    a 160GB & a 320GB Hard drive
    1 NEC 3540A DVD RW Drive
    Geforce 6600GT

    I'm assuming that my PSU will not have the required wattage to run (or properly run) a x1800XT. What is the minimum wattage you would recommend? Also, which PSU make/model would you recommend?

    Thanks a lot! :)
     
  2. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 976

    Location: Macclesfield

    ive got an x1900xt running on a 430w tagan :D

    Aslong as your not planning to do any major overclocking on your gpu then most half decent psu's will be upto the job
     
  3. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I'd recommend something like the 430W Seasonic as a minimum.
     
  4. A2Z

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 May 2005

    Posts: 8,260

    Location: London

    my 400w Akasa powers my x1800xt 512, with a 3000@2.7, 2gb ram, 3 HD's, dvd-rw etc FINE :)
     
  5. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Fair enough, I just like FSP\Seasonic\Forton a lot :)
     
  6. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,143

    Location: Shropshire

    I was always told its the amps you need, not always the Watts :p :confused:
     
  7. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    The Akasa has 20A if i'm not mistaken, which should be enough. I like to have a little leeway though, for more overclocking\future upgrades.
     
  8. megatron

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,189

    Location: Kent

    The x1800 512Mb is on special offer atm, and it comes with a artic cooler for £205.
     
  9. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield


    P=IV

    if V is constant then P is proportional to I

    more watts = more amps
     
  10. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,143

    Location: Shropshire

    So how come say a 600 watt cheapo psu can only have say 16 amps, and a decent tagan 420w can have 23 ??
     
  11. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield


    becuase generally they cant - they say ther psu can give alot of amps, when it will actually die

    link me and ill try and be more specific
     
  12. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,143

    Location: Shropshire


    I dont have a link sorry :)

    It just reminded me of when i built my first pc with my dad, and i he bought me a psu from " Cant Say Because I Will Get Botty Slapped :p " it had quite a high rated amount of watts, but there was only 16amps on the 12volt rail, so i bought myself this tagain :D


    Im not trying to argue with you btw, im just curious :)
     
  13. Sticklyman

    Associate

    Joined: 31 May 2006

    Posts: 42

    Location: Swansea

    Thanks a lot guys :) It seems that I will need to get a new PSU seeing as mine only has 16A on the 12V rail :(

    http://www.sticklyman.com/PSU.JPG

    Would the Ultra X-Connect 500W (CA-004-UX) be ok? It has 34A on the 12V rail.

    Thanks again :)
     
  14. megatron

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,189

    Location: Kent

    Its just marketing, u can describe a PSUs performance in more than one way. The favorite for sound systems is to quote peak to peak output where as the waveform will spend only a short time at its peak during one cycle. The more accurate way is to quote RMS power, this is just a mathematical way to add together the area under the graph so to speak.
     
  15. charltonfan1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,047

    Location: Reading

    AFAIK its comes with the standard X1800XT cooler as it isnt the ICEQ3 version.

    So will be just as loud as any other stock X1800XT
     
  16. geeza

    Banned

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,212

    id splash out on a decent psu if i were you. I used to hae a 300watt one that came with the case i got for £22 and it knackered 2 of my hard drives and i lost all my uni work, shed loads of mp3s (over 10000) films and games. When i used to burn cds and connect a couple of 80mm fans and overclock my 9800pro drives would turn off and sometimes even restart my pc!


    i now have this (hiper type R 580watt) powering an overclocked x1800xt, 2.8ghz opteron 146 and a few other bits


    [​IMG]

    no problems yet, was £80 but at least my computer wont die on me now!
     
  17. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    I'd still recommend Enermax\FSP\Seasonic\Tagan over Hiper.

    By the way, its HMRC now, not Inland Revenue ;)
     
  18. geeza

    Banned

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,212

    recommend away, just saying mine has been stable since i bought it about 4 months back.

    cant be bothered to change, most know who thay are
     
  19. Indy500

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 17,509

    Not saying Hiper is necessarily bad (certainly better than a generic) but given the choice available...
     
  20. geeza

    Banned

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 9,212

    not wishing to get into an argument here but what are you basing this upon, have you had a few hipers blow up on you or something in the past?