1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT help needed. i5 has become i3??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Mak3R, 16 Apr 2010.

  1. Mak3R

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Norn Iron

    Earlier on I updated my BIOS using the gigabyte @bios function that came with the motherboard on a disk.

    Now in Windows I only have 2 cores showing and Coretemp shows this:

    [​IMG]

    Whats going on?? What even is havendale??
     
    Last edited: 16 Apr 2010
  2. littlescrimbler

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Feb 2010

    Posts: 104

    i wouldn't call this urgent.
     
  3. Mak3R

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Norn Iron

    Then dont bother answering the thread?
     
  4. Philtor

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Nov 2009

    Posts: 5,963

    Relax man. It's just the way the new BIOS is reporting your chip. Use Everest and see what that say's. Is it the latest version of Coretemp by the way?
     
  5. McstylisT

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 8 Oct 2008

    Posts: 2,677

    Location: In Lockdown England

    First check your bios. Possible flashing has put some sort of setting back in there and possibly disabled the activation of all your cores. :D

    Check there for something along these line and to make sure the bios recognises its a 750 quad core and has 4 active cores. :)

    Let us know how you get on.

    McT
     
  6. Philtor

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Nov 2009

    Posts: 5,963

    This is why my next upgrade will be an AMD system. lol ! Sorry for thread hijack. *shut up phil*.
     
  7. Mak3R

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Norn Iron

    Yeah I've just done that, bios had disabled 2 cores after the update.
    It just completely threw me when I opened Coretemp and it read i3(Havendale) as I'd never heard of it and paniced :D

    All fine now though panic over.
     
  8. Philtor

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Nov 2009

    Posts: 5,963

    Great news Mak3R ! Have a pint on me there ;)