1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Use any PCI-E socket on a SLi motherboard?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by dagwoood, 15 Aug 2006.

  1. dagwoood

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 695

    Location: West Midlands, UK.

    I've just received my new motherboard(DFI Infinity NF4 SLi)and how the CPU bracket is orientated I could have a problem fitting my Arctic Freezer fan if I use the top PCI-E socket.

    Do you have to use a specific socket on a SLi motherboard if you only have the one graphics card installed?

    I'd like to use the bottom one but couldn't find anything in the motherboard manual that states whether you have to use a certain socket when using one graphics card.

    TIA, dagwoood.
     
  2. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    From what I have heard, you don't have to use a specific slot. Give it a try, as there's no risk of damaging your card this way, and let us know how it goes. :)
     
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,839

    Location: Autonomy

    Using the lower is meant to decrease perfromance.But in real worls tests the difference is small.
     
  4. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    Aye, doesn't the bottom one use PCI-E 8x as opposed to PCI-E 16x? No difference though, as you said, because even the bandwidth of AGP 8x hasn't been saturated yet. :)
     
  5. tom_e

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 27,739

    Location: Shropshire

    from what ive read if you use the top it gets the full 16x if you use the bottom the 16x lane is split into 2 8x lanes which is then given to each slot but as Úlfhednar said AGP 8x hasnt even been saturated yet so you shouldnt notice any real decrease in performance
     
  6. dagwoood

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 695

    Location: West Midlands, UK.

    Thanks for the input guys :)

    According to my motherboard manual it just says that when a single slot is used it's x16, but when in SLi mode each socket runs at x8. I'll give it a try and post back what happens.

    Thanks again, dagwoood.