1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Valheim

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by TriedandTested, 6 Feb 2021.

  1. Kainz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Dec 2002

    Posts: 21,975

    Location: In a cowfield, London, UK

    I talk to my wife much less now.
     
  2. delta0

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2012

    Posts: 6,992

    Location: London/S Korea

    I got my SSD running through USB 3 which is giving me up to 175MB/s due to USB 3 not being fully supported yet but it is better than USB 2 and loads faster than microSD.
     
  3. LeMson

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Mar 2012

    Posts: 3,851

    Tried vulkan on 2070 super, cant notice a difference
     
  4. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 17,810

    I am going to reinstall windows again on it as i think i messed it up as halfway through installing it before, it wasnt set to boot from ssd and had to manually each tim set it to boot to ssd!
     
  5. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Oct 2007

    Posts: 7,115

    Location: UK

    Is this any good as a single player?
     
  6. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2007

    Posts: 20,521

    It asks you when you start up the game now, or you can add -force-vulkan to the launch options for Valheim in Steam
     
  7. TheBrooder

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2007

    Posts: 3,192

    Location: Cognac, France

    yes
     
  8. Jimbo

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,024

    Location: Newcastle, England

    Just ran it in Vulkan on my 6800XT and experienced my first ever crash in the game. Hard locked on me.
     
  9. mid_gen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,115

    Yeah, Vulkan is reliably hard locking my system. 2070 here.
     
  10. robj20

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,046

    Done the first boss, listened to the stupid bird and ran straight into the black forest. You can guess what happened.

    Guess I need better armour as it only took them one hit to kill me.
     
  11. humanlaptop

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Nov 2016

    Posts: 447

    Even fully bronzed the Forest is sketchy. You need plenty of spare weapons if you are making a long run.

    Had to fend of a Giant Troll with log, a Greydwarf Brute, a Greydwarf Shaman... a flipping live nest of them, so constant Greydwarves as well. Honestly how I didnt die ill never know. In the end I had to take a huge angle, to YOLO back in on the nest to give me some breathing room. Then work the Troll with arrows, before taking the Shaman so he stopped healign the Brute.

    I broke my bronze axe, my bronze shield was in disrepair... id used over 100 flint arrows :D I survived by the Stagbreakers resilience in the end.
     
  12. ElliorR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Feb 2009

    Posts: 9,193

    Location: Not where I'd like to be

    I built my first portals yesterday putting the first one at my house in the starting area and then ran across the map to the shore side of the Black Forest. When I got there I sailed across to a Black Forest island I had seen in the distance, already been there and set up a camp, and decided I had had enough of running and sailing there.

    I built my second portal and it would not connect. I sailed and ran back to make sure I had called them the same thing, though it wasn’t rocket science, I had named the first one BF but once I got home I realised I’d named the second one DF, as in Dark Forest. That was annoying.

    Found the merchant, set up a second portal from home to him, and bought a fishing rod. Got to suss fishing out later. Also found 2 other biomes on this other island, mountain where I nearly froze to death, and then found a swamp where some leaches killed me and then a bloody archer skeleton did as well cause I want paying attention.

    Great game.
     
  13. humanlaptop

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Nov 2016

    Posts: 447

    Nice i need to sort out portals. I did find the mountains as well but heard horrors of packs of wolves roaming the lands... so bailed on then quite quick
     
  14. Hakanese

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jun 2013

    Posts: 1,790

    Never had so much fun doing manual labour:D
     
  15. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Oct 2007

    Posts: 7,115

    Location: UK

    That's good enough for me, thanks, bought
     
  16. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,755

    Location: Surrey

    Our little portal shrine

    [​IMG]
     
  17. delta0

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2012

    Posts: 6,992

    Location: London/S Korea

    Meadows easy, Black Forest need to be careful, mountains very tricky because of cold, wolfs and drakes and then plains that is next level. I have maxed out wolf armour, draugr etc. I feel comfortable in mountains. Plains I’m very wary.
     
  18. KungFuSpaghetti

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 1,666

    My mountain retreat, still a work in progress. It's basically impenetrable to NPC's, as there's a layer of wall behind the mound. Very small chance of taking an arrow to the knee.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Nasher

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Nov 2006

    Posts: 19,603

    Seems like a patch today messed up servers and save files. My dedicated server can't even see itself anymore on a loopback IP.

    Saves files are also randomly getting corrupt and wiping worlds (buildings, items, trees, everything except grass).
     
  20. delta0

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2012

    Posts: 6,992

    Location: London/S Korea

    I updated my server with steamcmd, then updated my computer and was able to connect fine. I make a copy to the worlds folder every so often just in case.