1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virgin Media Wireless Modem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Twentymac, 20 Apr 2010.

  1. Twentymac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2007

    Posts: 1,530

    Location: Birmingham

    Just wondering if Virgin media do a wireless modem type thing like BT's Home Hub.

    Anyone know?
     
  2. Narj

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Feb 2010

    Posts: 13,122

    Location: London

    I was offered the option but I bought my own (Linksys WRT54GL) and it works great :)
     
  3. SubFocus

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jan 2010

    Posts: 534

    Location: Manchester

  4. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 26,795

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    yes they do but its not got a built in phone, its just a wireless router.
     
  5. sigma

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Nov 2006

    Posts: 18,883

    Free? :mad: I swear they wanted to charge me when I asked them. ****s :mad:

    Got the same one as PianoBasher (lol great username :D) now though, works a treat.
     
  6. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 26,795

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    its pot luck who you speak to on the phone
     
  7. Twentymac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Oct 2007

    Posts: 1,530

    Location: Birmingham

    Ah yeah but thats just a wireless router isnt it ?
    not a wireless modem?

    Cause im just after using one box and not having to use a modem then a wireless router.
     
  8. .Kencs

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Oct 2007

    Posts: 2,738

    I have their Wireless Router, It's OK I suppose, does the job :)
     
  9. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Jun 2006

    Posts: 36,436

    you cannot get a wireless modem that will work with virgin media. you need their modem, no other modem will work and then you will need a wireless router if you want to go wireless