1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virtual memory

Discussion in 'Memory' started by munge, 4 Feb 2006.

  1. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    All of a sudden I keep getting low virtual memory warnings on my PC. This started when my Ballistix 2GB memory failed and I briefly had to use a single stick before that failed.

    Now I'm getting it even with my new Corsair 3500 2x 1GB sticks (Crucial refunded my Ballistix).

    It runs stable overnight with Prime 95 at 2-3-2-6 -1T @218MHz, although intend to increase this if possible.

    I haven't changed anything that I can see or think of since the change in memory, so what does this mean? Running XP Home SP2 on Asus A8N Sli Deluxe if that makes a difference. Have 2 Spinpoint SATA II RAID'ed (400GB in 2 partitions) and 2 other SATA I drives not RAID'ed for backup, so disk space isn't an issue surely?
     
  2. decto

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,190

    virtual memory is the swap file. Check this is enabled and set it to a fixed size, typically around 768MB default but can vary.

    AD
     
  3. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Right click My Computer > Properties > Advanced Tab > Settings under Performance > Advanced Tab > Change button under virtual memory > Tick Custom size and set it to 1536MB for each box > Set > Apply/OK > Apply/OK > Restart if required

    :)
     
  4. munge

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 645

    Location: Always on the M1.....

    Not sure why I couldn't find it, or more importantly why it had become disabled! Stuck it on an unpartitioned bit of my striped drive so hopefully all sorted....

    Amazing it still uses the hard drive even with 2GB of fast memory!

    Cheers!
     
  5. Admiral Huddy

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Feb 2003

    Posts: 29,606

    Location: Chelmsford

    iirc the program instruction on any CPU addresses up to 4gb of memory, therefore page swapping still occurs on 2gb. The processor is designed to allocate less frequently accessed data to pagefile rather than in RAM. This makes sense because your RAM is constantly being refreshed (Dynamic) and considerable over head of large amounts of data are being held unnecessarily.


    Typically your page file size should be at least 1.5 times the size of your Physical RAM and never less than.