1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virus Found

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Apex, 19 Jun 2006.

  1. Apex

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Feb 2006

    Posts: 12,647

    Location: Surrey

    just ran AVG and it has found 2 viruses. first file name is kill.exe and second is tlist.exe. The result/infection is says virus found Win32/Parite. anyone know what this is? AVG doesn't get rid of it, it just tells me that its there and does nothing. Could this be to do with the fact that this version is illegal?
     
  2. manveruppd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,086

    Location: Leeds/Cyprus

    Go to trendmicro.com and use their online virus scanner. Some virus can't be deleted because they're running at the time though, so, alternatively, kill the processes manually through task manager and delete those files.
    By the way, AVG is free - how can you have an illegal version? :confused:
     
  3. Apex

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Feb 2006

    Posts: 12,647

    Location: Surrey

    ok ill go try there. I meant illegal windows, lol sos re-reading what i said i realise how silly i sounded. anyway i meant that my windows is illegal. Im sure to get it to stop asking for a key thing i had to use someapplication called kill.exe
     
  4. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,788

    Location: Parts Unknown

    lol
     
  5. manveruppd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,086

    Location: Leeds/Cyprus

    Kill.exe is a system file, it's supposed to be there. Now if it's been infected with a virus I'm sure AVG or one of the others should be able to fix it, unless the original file was overwritten by a completely different file. Whether your Windows lisence(sp?) is legal or not shouldn't make a difference.
     
  6. Abz

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Jul 2004

    Posts: 678

    Location: London

    To be honest its always best to have two antiviruses installed in a OS, however some tend to slow the computer down while others just work without using so much system resources.

    Try F Prot Anti Virus. Reinstalling an old OS is also always best.
     
  7. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 19,974

    Good idea to tell the world that you have an illegal version of Windows! :)
     
  8. Kezmo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Apr 2006

    Posts: 2,211

    Location: Northampton

    Kudos to him, microsoft make 1 billion a month

    btw Avast antivirus is very good and it's free, also any hacks for windows or what ever u download always virus scan the files before u use em :)
     
  9. snagrat

    Gangster

    Joined: 18 Jun 2003

    Posts: 188

    Location: Wellington, Somerset

    But have just paid out £65m coz they got sued :)
     
  10. Apex

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Feb 2006

    Posts: 12,647

    Location: Surrey

    well i have AVG and Avast and both find it but neither do anything. After they show that they have found it they just show like a summary of what they found and how many files fixed, both say none. Do i need AVG and Avast to run at start up? if so how what do they do while running? I dont have them running solely as they both have an icon in the system tray and i hate icons in the system tray, even though i can hide them i still know they are there. i guess it mihgt be something i wll have to get used to
     
  11. rickyt

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Sep 2005

    Posts: 617

    Have I read this post correctly ??? a member of overclockers running a illegle version of windows . This cannot be true !! .................yeah .we've all been there ...........just haven't put it into words.
     
  12. Apex

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Feb 2006

    Posts: 12,647

    Location: Surrey

    well i had to reinstall AVG but now after just doing a simple search going from start menu, search and typing in kill.exe AVG runs and tells me that again a virus was found Win32/Parite and my options are to ignore, move to virus vault, or info

    after clicking on info this is what i get:

    Virus Encyclopedia
    Win32/Parite
    This worm infects Windows executable files.

    Installation and spreading:
    When the worm is launched it finds executable files with EXE or SCR extension on all accessible disk drives and infects them.

    Removing:
    There is no removal tool for Win32/Parite virus. It's not possible to heal the infected files because the virus overwrites the executable file in most cases. It is necessary to restore damaged files from backup.

    The Parite virus also spreads via shared folder on the network. When removing the virus you need to disconnect all computer with shared folders from the network. Then delete all infected files and restore them from a backup. When all computers are virus free then you can connect them back to the network.

    Note:
    We don't recommend to share all content of your hard drive to the network. If it is necessary share the content only for read-only access. Don't share folders with full control access.

    What do i do now????
     
  13. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,912

    Location: In a house

    Why not just send it to the vault then empty it. :p
     
  14. Conrad11

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,362

    Hi there,


    It is very important and you should have an antivirus software, firewall and spyware cleaner type software. You should also make sure you update and run them reguarly


    Best Package of Software if you have money to spend:

    * NOD32 - (Click Here For Costs)
    * ZoneAlarm Firewall - (Free)
    * SpywareBlaster - (Free)
    * CCleaner - (Free)
    * Spybot Search and Destroy - (Free)



    Best Package of Software if you don't have money to spend:

    * AVAST - (Free)
    * ZoneAlarm Firewall - (Free)
    * SpywareBlaster - (Free)
    * CCleaner - (Free)
    * Spybot Search and Destroy - (Free)



    Alternate free firewall:

    * Sygate Personal Firewall - (Free)

    Note: Even though sygate has been sold to Norton, you can still get the Sygate Personal Firewall. The latest version is 5.6 as is available for download in the link above.



    Hope this helps!