1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vista 64 to Windows 64, quick question

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by rancid-a, 12 Apr 2010.

  1. rancid-a

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2008

    Posts: 733

    Location: Wakefield

    When upgrading from Vista64 to Windows7 64bit, do you still need to phone up Microsoft with activation codes etc?

    And for those that went this 'upgrade' route, did your install process go okay?

    Cheers :)
     
  2. matthab

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Apr 2009

    Posts: 3,163

    I did this to my laptop but then though meh every upgrade ive seen or done has never gone well.

    All i did was pop in my windows 7 upgrade dell sent me and it allows you to format the drive if theres a vista install on that drive. This gives you a fresh start and will mimise errors.

    As for ringing MS i didnt I just entered the key which came with windows 7 and click activate.
     
  3. rancid-a

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2008

    Posts: 733

    Location: Wakefield

    I actually though ringing MS was mandatory and pictured myself in a queue for hours on end..

    Although I've had a few PCs in my time, I've never upgraded the operating system of any of them. This PC (in my siggy) has Vista64 on it, recently caught a trojan/virus and had to use Acronis True Image to get it everything back. Although my system now feels fresh (or rather empty!) I'd still like to upgrade and say bye bye to Vista :) Thanks for your time matthab
     
  4. Alex74

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 May 2009

    Posts: 3,541

    Location: London

    Nah, as before (in XP) for the first couple times at least, Windows will activate itself online automatically if it needs to. So no waiting on the phone. The only time i ever needed to call was after the fifth(?) or so time I installed XP and it wouldnt let me do it automatically any more. Even then didnt take too long, no queues just an automated system and lots of numbers :)

    I've never actually gone through the 'upgrade path' myself, I'm somewhat more keen on the idea of a total refresh, no redundant system files/registry entries/whatevers from a previous install to get in the way.. That's just me though, I understand many people need to keep programs/files etcetc though.
    Either way it's up to you, the media should allow you to install fresh or use the upgrade path.
     
  5. rancid-a

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2008

    Posts: 733

    Location: Wakefield

    Cheers Alex, I've gone and ordered my Win7 :)
     
  6. snowdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,553

    Location: Netherlands

    I always used the upgrade method ( cba to reinstall 150+ apps) , it's fine and works pretty much flawlessly in my experience.

    No idea on the activating bit though.