1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Water cooling a 6300

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Elric, 2 Aug 2006.

  1. Elric

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Jun 2004

    Posts: 786

    Location: IOM

    Just ordered a 6300 / DS4 / HZ PC2-6400 combo, and got to thinking about the build.

    I've got a spare Innovatek watercooling kit lying around and was wondering it it was worth hooking this up to the kit or are people finding air cooling to be good enough?
     
  2. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,740

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Air cooling would be fine
     
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,841

    Location: Autonomy

    I would go for the water cooling if you already have a kit.What have you got to lose othere than 20c of your temps :)
     
  4. Elric

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Jun 2004

    Posts: 786

    Location: IOM

    I guess so, the only thing for me to get would be a LGA775 mounting kit. :)
     
  5. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,841

    Location: Autonomy

    Go for it,

    I just have gone H20 and love the results

    Easyriders Watercool :D
     
  6. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,740

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Well I achieved 3.4 on my 6300 without water cooling. I personally dont think its worth the hassle. I am water cooled BTW.
     
  7. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,740

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Love the Casters :D
     
  8. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,841

    Location: Autonomy

    If you already have a kit though why not.

    I went water cooling due to the fact that i was getting temps of arounf 69c on air plus H20 is something I have always wanted to do. :D

    The casters rock. :D
     
  9. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,740

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Like I said just the hassle factor. With his setup its not needed. I did 3.4 on a akasa £7 special! NOT

    Don't get me wrong I'm not against water cooling m8 like I said I have it. A Marci built rig with V2000+ : PA120.3 : AquaExtreme MP-05 SP LE : Maze 4 GPU , D4 Etc.... Like you its something I fancied doing :)
     
  10. img

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 633

    best thing for me with watercooling was my pc not blasting out a load of hot air all the time heasting up my room.
     
  11. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,740

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Still got the same heat coming out m8 its just all in your rad :)
     
  12. img

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 633

    well when i had fans blowing on me it was like sitting next to oven. with just watercooling and fan going through rad its nothing like what it was. i know same amount of heat system is producing but thats way it is
     
  13. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,129

    Location: Intel HQ

    would be nice to get 4Ghz on water :D

    ;) * hint hint * ;)
     
  14. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,841

    Location: Autonomy


    LOL :D