1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Water cooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by J1234, 20 May 2006.

  1. J1234

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,800

    Is the ThermalTake water cooling parts of good quality? Do they provide good cooling, cheers.
     
  2. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    In a word....no.
     
  3. gr1mey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,006

    Location: Southampton

    build your own custom system, so, so, so much better and much more satisfying.
     
  4. J1234

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,800

    What do you recommend then, heard danger den are good?
     
  5. gr1mey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,006

    Location: Southampton

    theres masses of em to choose from, but a few things I'd bare in mind:

    Thermochill rad of some form, cooled by akasa amber or alike.

    go for a 1/2" tubing system as it allows best flow rate.

    apply all cores with as5.

    for a first attempt only go for cooling your CPU and GFX dont bother with the NB.

    i got an Alphacool Nexxxos XP CPU block and a Swiftech MCw60 VGA block, combined with a Laing 12v pump with the plexi top and a 5.25" Danger Den Bay res. Good bits for the price, I get 27' idle and 36' load on my OC system (sig) :)
     
  6. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    What exaxctly are you cooling with this rig ?
    please try to read the other watercoolign threads amongst this part of the forum... theres alot to read but yiou will eb an expert by the time you get to the bottom of the forum !
     
  7. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897

  8. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,262

    Location: Manchester

    ive had / got / selling in mm that kit and its not bad. its no where near extreme watercooling, but for extreme watercooling you have to pay extreme prices. cant really remember the temps i was getting but it was cooling my furnace foa smithfield core 830 !

    it should giev you a nose abouve the best aircooling ont he markeyt but its VERY VERY quiet if not silent.
    just not elot of room for improvement really. good to egt ** feet wet though.
     
  9. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897

    thats what im after really, :) i cant aford a proffesional WC set up and was going to spend £26 on an air cooler anyway, im not going too mental with my overclocks, taking my opty 146 up to 2.85Ghz. im already at 2.7Ghz with temps of 41oC idle and 50oC under load and thats with my little Vantech Mach 1 air cooler.

    my only worry is leakage and how to fit the bloody thing... :confused:
     
  10. ichabod crane

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,183

    Location: York

    the thermaltake kit isnt amazing but it does its job, i have one in one of my pc's just for the cpu bout all it could cope with but it works about as well as a top end air cooler but just alot more silent. Its a perfect starting position into watercooling... then later on you can move up to a more high end one
     
  11. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    If you are going to do watercooling then do it properly and leave Thermaltack alone. You can get decent performing kit for under £80. You just need to look for it.
     
  12. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897


    hey, £26 was my budget for air cooling... £30 plus postage for this kit will do me fine. :) besides, my graphics cards virtually silent as it is, i only need to cool the cpu.
     
  13. Cyanide

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,968

    Location: Nottingham

    Mine cools my CPU and 2 GPU's just fine with only a single 120mm rad. Sure the temps could be lower with a 120.2, but I haven't got the space. For the price it's ok, certainly nice and quiet once you replace the awful fan that comes with it :D
     
  14. h2ocooler

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Jun 2005

    Posts: 350

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    I have 2 thermaltake waterblocks on my Dual Xeon system, keeps it @ 40-41 full load, seem to be made welll and came with everything needed to fit including 3 sets of hose connectors! and they have a pretty blue LED in them :p
     
  15. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,908

    Location: Stoke

    Hi , the swiftech ultra is a good kit to start with , good quality , the only bit i didnt like is the res so i changed it to a danger den bay type , i also changed the cpu block to a storm but tbh there isnt any difference there
     
  16. raja

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jan 2006

    Posts: 914

    Location: Bedford UK

    andy what kind of temps are you getting on the gfx cards? Are you running the 1900 mastercard, as I heard from Coolasmoo that the composition chip needs a heatsink..
     
  17. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,908

    Location: Stoke

    Hi Raja i got both blocks and the master block comes with composite cooler , i havnt got my master card yet , but these coolers are awesome

    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
     
  18. raja

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jan 2006

    Posts: 914

    Location: Bedford UK

    Hi,

    Are you running them on a seperate loop, or with cpu?

    What are your load temps for gpu and cpu?


    If cpu is on the same loop, what rad and fans are you using?

    I'm wondering which fans to get, as I want quiet ones, that can be ramped up. The Nexus fans seem to be good, though not quite as fast @ 12v as the Yate Loons.


    Those blocks are quite expensive, for 2 block it would cost loads, my major concern for that kind of expenditure would be that they may not fit future cards.


    Sorry for all the questions, curious atm as you know I'm going over to water cooling soon.


    Regards
    Raja
     
  19. andyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,908

    Location: Stoke

    Hi Raja , my kit started out as a swiftech ultra , i changed the res to a danger den drive bay type as it looks a lot better , and changed the cpu cooler to a storm block at full load at 333times 9 i dont hit 50 and that is with the gpu on the same loop, i have added an extra fan on top of the rad running at full speed the two underside have resistors in series

    my case is posted here , bit untidy with the cables but i dont suppose it will ever be finished , the blocks are expensive but i used swiftech blocks and ram sinks before and they are ok , but i had some money in paypal that was burning a hole in my pocket , and they are nice and tidy and cool and put less strain on the cards.

    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

    edit : i still have a mcw55 and ramsinks in for sale section if anyones interested