1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

watercooling loop order check plz :)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by cokecan, 23 Jul 2006.

  1. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    hey guys, ive nearly got my loop sorted, just need to find a cheap cheap 1/2'' t-junction from somewhere to finish it (if anyones got one they dont want, let me know :) lol).

    from the stuff ive been readin on the net, this seems to be a good way to set it up:

    pump -> rad -> cpu -> gpu -> t-junction (filling/bleeding) -> pump

    also one more thing, what would be the best mixture to use in it?? i'm thinking about using distilled water and a little bit of anti-freeze as this should stop any corrosion etc (even though i think all my loop is copper) and give an ever so slightly increased ammount of cooling performance

    thoughts anyone??
     
  2. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 914

    Location: UK

    Loop order is fine, i use water wetter. Id maybe get some Zerex or stuff like that.

    How soon do you need the T junction as i have one spare mate.
     
  3. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    anti freeze will not increase the amount of cooling performance, it will degrade it if anything and should only be used if you are using a mixture of metals in the loop i.e aluminium and copper to prevent corrosion. Pure distilled will be fine IF its an all copper loop (or even copper and brass). A few drops of Iodine should be enough to keep any algae at bay.

    The setup you have looks fine although afaik its a common misconception that having the loop in a particular order will help temps, in fact it dosn't really matter. The only thing that does matter is that you should always have the t-line before the pump, as you have already done.

    GL with the WC.
     
  4. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    i read it increases performance cos it contains a bit of alcohol which has better heat transfer than water???

    as far as i know its all copper so shouldnt have a problem with mixing metals (maze 4 cpu, mp-1 gpu, black ice extreme II, aquaxtreme 50Z)??

    its probs a good thing you dont need it in a certain order (except the t-piece) cos when i layed out my case i didnt really have any particular order in mind, just as long as the cpu was the first thing after the pump or rad.

    4Qman, emailed ya about the t-piece
     
    Last edited: 23 Jul 2006
  5. silentphoenix

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 268

    Location: Norwich

    Looks good dude. rom me you'll get another vote for zerex as a water additive - ive had no problems with it and has kept my water clean for nearly 2 years now.

    Only thing ill say is that investing in a res may make life a fair bit easier. Although some may argue it give a drop in performance (if there is any its going to be very little), but the benefits of filling and bleeding (i.e. getting the air out of your loop) outweigh any performance loss.

    If you do go for a res, then it'll be just before the pump.
     
  6. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    a res may be the next thing on my list to do then. for now ill stick with the t-piece but depending on how annoying i find this to be to bleed etc i may invest in a res instead.

    its all for an overclockin project im doin, so i can see me draining it and re-filling it quite alot

    quick edit: is there any difference in size of res to go for just out of curiousity???
     
    Last edited: 23 Jul 2006
  7. Bundles

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,384

    Location: Hatton

    Go for a res mate, I've always used a res on my loops except this time, and man did i regret it come bleeding time, bleeding is a nightmare without a res.
     
  8. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    hmmm ok, so to my previous question, does the size of res matter at all??
     
  9. ichabod crane

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,195

    Location: York

    a res helps just before the pump to stop the pump being starved of water which can lead to cavitation (pump pushing out more water than is able to get back due to the restriction of blocks and rad) which basically puts the pump under constant stress.
     
  10. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    but surley whether theres a res or not, the pump wont be starved because what ever it pumps out, it will get exactly the same ammount back??? if your not gettin the same back then id be wondering if theres a leak somewehre in my loop??

    and again, size of res, does it matter?
     
  11. silentphoenix

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Oct 2003

    Posts: 268

    Location: Norwich

    Dont quote me on this, but i dont think the size matters really. You just need something that'll fit in your case. I think if you got a res with 3 holes it would be cool - have one purely for filling the system via a fillport (if you've got one) and the other 2 are for connecting to your loop.
     
  12. cokecan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jan 2004

    Posts: 7,662

    Location: Nottingham

    if size doesnt matter then i may be able to squeeze one in. found the swiftech MCRES-micro might do the job, got a fillport so should be easy to fill

    either this or any floppy/hdd sized res's should fit (non that are double size or really thick) if anyone knows of any?
     
  13. DaveMac

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 May 2004

    Posts: 3,013

    Location: Wolves

    Res size doesn't matter other than a larger one can make filling by blipping the pump on an off quicker but it depends on how the loop is arranged.

    I am currently using a Danger Den double floppy bay res:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Bundles

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,384

    Location: Hatton

    DaveMac, is that a 120mm or a 92mm fan hole at the back of your case? been trying to figure out a way to do that on my own (for a 120mm) but the fan itself wont fit in the space, any pointers?

    Cheers.

    sorry for going OT btw.
     
  15. DaveMac

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 May 2004

    Posts: 3,013

    Location: Wolves

    120mm fans front and rear.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    The rear is extremely tight fitting and sits on top of the internal frame to the I/O shield.
     
  16. Bundles

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,384

    Location: Hatton

    Yeh, same issue i'm having, just that wee bit too small a space huh :(