1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Weekend Steam Deal] S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl for £3.49

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Tejstar, 19 Dec 2008.

  1. m4cc45

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Mar 2003

    Posts: 6,575

    Poor game IMHO. The guns are rubbish (and the targetting system was awful). Initially you think you can run anywhere but you can't as soon as you want to investigate you get the 'radiation' warning - commenly known as you can't go there.

    When I originally played it, it was unfinished rubbish. Now it's just rubbish. The sequel is no better either (for lots of reasons I could go into). You can get it in most second hand games shops for £1.



    M.
     
  2. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    What are your PC specs?
     
  3. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    Looks like I overpaid by £2.49 then ;-(
     
  4. Squark

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Apr 2004

    Posts: 11,540

    Location: In Christ

    Targeting system awful?
    You manually point at your target and press shoot, how is that awful?
    Accuracy is pants for auto fire, as it should be, single shot is fine.

    You can roam a huge amount, I know I have, not straight away you need an ok-ish suit first to help with rad.

    It's not rubbish
     
  5. Memphis

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,204

    Location: Inverness

    Classic "I don't like it, therefore it's rubbish" post.
     
  6. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    Not really - he has reasons for thinking the game is rubbish, therefore he thinks it is rubbish. His opinion is perfectly valid even if others don't share it.
     
  7. MotherMayI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Dec 2007

    Posts: 2,410

    Afaik thats actually a myth, and still illegal.
     
  8. Ogs

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Oct 2007

    Posts: 773

    Id couldnt recommend the Steam version to anyone, even at this price, as there are some noticable differences between Steam & Retail. Theres small things like the game not auto detecting that your machine can handle higher graphics or mouse movement having some kind of "sway" to it, then bigger things like shadows at the edges of the screen not rendering correctly or from a distance, and overall image quality doesnt look right (and this is with the exact same settings chosen in game on both). There is a reason why (i think the retail installer checks your system, then creates the correct config files in the STALKER-SHOC folder), whereas Steam doesnt bother, and so uses all the defaults GSC didnt correct. Technically you could fix all these in Steam if you know what the numerous console commands are otherwise your out of luck :(. Il try and get some screenshots up showing exactly what i mean.
     
  9. Sel

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2003

    Posts: 433

    Location: Stoke

    Well that was money wasted as it won't work, It boots and runs but I carn't see it I get a black screen with my monitor searching for an input.

    AMD 4800 x2
    WinXP SP3
    Latest drivers
    8800 gts
    2gig ram
     
  10. chrisxuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: ctf_2Fort

    Not sure if im looking in the right place but i think:
    CPU 3.06ghz
    3.06ghz
    1.00gb RAM
    And its XP sp3
     
  11. Turtles

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Feb 2008

    Posts: 1,362

    Location: Edinburgh

    Is there any must have mods for this then? Some people mentioned a few earlier on....

    Bought it this morning and will look at installing it sometime when I get bored this festive season!
     
  12. Squark

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Apr 2004

    Posts: 11,540

    Location: In Christ

    I use the Stalker Weather Overhaul v2.2.2 (which includes Sky4CE_MOD_v1.77 and S.H.A.R.P.E.R-Textures_v.0.95), Realistic headlamp 1.3 and SOUND overhaul 107RC2
     
  13. Ogs

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Oct 2007

    Posts: 773

  14. Klunk

    Associate

    Joined: 3 Jun 2007

    Posts: 16

    Guys
    This is a steel at this price ,or any other offer out there, play it through vanilla first then go mod crazy !!
    I am constantly surprised at the skills of the modding community especially as there is no offical SDK .I find myself playing Oblivion ,then back to Stalker, then Fallout 3, then back to Stalker etc... and it still is one of the most scary and atmosperic games around.....
     
  15. paulh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2008

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Spalding

    1gb RAM, you're really going to struggle with that on Stalker. I think 2gb is about the min!

    i had 4gb in vista when it first came out and it used well over half ot it!! (i know vista uses more, but still 1gb is not enough)

    What GFX card have you got? my old X1950 used to play up a bit and that had 512mb ram!!
     
  16. paulh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2008

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Spalding

    +1 this is my fave game of all time. I love it. I like Clear sky too, have done from day 1, its even better now with some mods!
     
  17. Columbo

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Mar 2007

    Posts: 8,542

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Which mods and why then fellas?

    Interested as I played the game through when it was first released, loved it and then shelved it for some reason...
     
  18. paulh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2008

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Spalding

    Oblivion lost (i've not used it but eveyone say it make the game so much better/harder/scary, i think with that you can drive some cars etc??, night are so dark its black + **** loads more stuff)) I've used some SHARPER packs to make it look a bit nicer and a wieght mod so i can carry a bit more. i know thats cheating but it means you can have a bit more fun and not have to worry all the time about how much to carry.
     
  19. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    I tried to install the 'realism' mod which supposedly does work with the Steam version of the game, but upon launch the game crashed. The game worked when I uninstalled the mod. I most wanted the mod to work because it raises your eye level apparently. Is there any other way of doing that, perhaps a console command? I can't get used to the eye level being so low.
     
  20. Rangler

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Mar 2004

    Posts: 865

    Location: Leicestershire

    Still available.?

    Damnit is this still available.?
    Any chance someone can find out when this expires.? Wont get home till 10ish tonight and have no remote access as work is now blocking ssh :(

    Anyone fancy gifting it for me and i'll payback ??