1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

What cpu needed for gaming on a 4890 @ 1920x1080

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Sneaky Peaky, 25 Sep 2009.

  1. Sneaky Peaky

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 2,499

    Location: Farnborough, Hants

    Currently have a Q6600 @ 3.2 but considering upgrading to a 4890 and 22" or 24" monitor.

    Will I need to upgrade the CPU as well ?

    Thanks
    Pete
     
  2. 'Wes

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Jun 2009

    Posts: 11,747

    Location: Łódź, Poland

    Nope, my lil brother runs the exact same CPU at 3ghz with a GTX 280 and a 22" monitor so you'll be fine. The Q6's are brilliant CPU's.
     
    Last edited: 25 Sep 2009
  3. Sindri

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 597

    Depends on the game you are playing really, some games could show no difference. Others however are more cpu reliant so you could notice quite a difference between your rig and say an i7.
     
  4. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,772

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Your cpu will be more than enough and will in no way hold back any graphics card. Most games are GPU limited these days. You may also be able to get some more out of your Q6600 as most will do 3.6Ghz.
     
  5. Arthalen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Apr 2006

    Posts: 2,029

    Location: Leeds, UK

    This.

    Higher Overclocks / Better processors really only needed for Multi-GPU setups at present, in my experience.
     
  6. LittleChimp

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Nov 2008

    Posts: 365

    Yeah would be crazy to sell a q6600 difference would be minimal.
     
  7. siumatfung

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Mar 2009

    Posts: 4,733

    Location: North East

    overclock it more if you can :D
     
  8. Ritsugamesh

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 Sep 2009

    Posts: 419

    Location: Nottingham

    +1 for o/cing the Q6600.

    The i5/7 range whilst impressive currently won't give you any tangible benefit in terms of gaming, it's encoding processes that the i range shine in over other cpu's.

    Stick with your Q6600, it'll tide you over until the next line of cpu's hit the stores I assure you.